Nursing Division

About The Nursing Division

The two-year Associate of Applied Science Degree in Nursing at NOVA prepares students for a successful career in nursing. The curriculum is designed to prepare selected students for eligibility to take the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX) and a future career as a registered nurse (RN) providing and coordinating care for patients in a variety of healthcare settings.

Refer to the Nursing Application Checklist for the most current application requirements and competitive admission information for the Nursing program.

Note: The background check does not have to be ordered at the time of application. A background check will be required after official acceptance before the program starts.

The Nursing Program at NOVA

  • Full-Time 5-semester program: First-semester students take the pre-requisite course work to prepare for applying to the program.
  • Lectures and Labs are held at the Medical Education Campus in Springfield, VA.
  • Dedicated Nursing lab.
  • State-of-the-art Simulation lab.
  • The NOVA Nursing Curriculum is fully approved by the Virginia Board of Nursing (VBON), located at Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463.
  • The Associate Degree in Nursing Program at NOVA is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, Inc. (ACEN), 3343 Peachtree Road NE, Suite 850, Atlanta, Georgia 30326.
  • Graduates are eligible to take the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX-RN®)
  • View NCLEX-RN pass rates for the last five years.

Learn More About The Nursing Program

Contact & Office Information

The Nursing Division is located at the Medical Education campus. An academic dean leads it with an associate dean.

If you have any questions or need more information, please get in touch with MEC Advising at 703.822.6531 or virtualadvising@nvcc.edu

Name Title Phone Email
Gary Sargent Dean of Nursing 703.822.0016 gsargent@nvcc.edu
Dr. Charemon Brooks Associate Dean of Nursing 703.822.2727 cbrooks@nvcc.edu
Comora Smith Clinical Coordinator 703.822.2712 csmith@nvcc.edu
Velery Brown Spring Cohort Administrative Assistant 703.822.6519 vlbrown@nvcc.edu
Suhel Dakwala Administrative  Assistant, Clinicals 703.822.6649 sdakwala@nvcc.edu
Eric Shaw Fall Cohort Administrative Assistant 703.822.9044 eshaw@nvcc.edu

Name Phone Email
Dr. Esther Abisogun 703.822.2014 eabisogun@nvcc.edu
Dr. Rita Boamah 703.822.2726 rboamah@nvcc.edu
Dr. Cordellia Bright 703.822.2034 cbright@nvcc.edu 
Brenda Clark 703.822.9051 baclark@nvcc.edu
Georganne Curtin 703.822.2088 gecurtin@nvcc.edu
Kayleen Galvan 703.822.6591 kgalvan@nvcc.edu 
Dr. Anne-Mette Harding 703.822.6672 agharding@nvcc.edu
Dorothea Johnson 703.822.2082 dljohnson@nvcc.edu
Elizabeth Kane-Glass 703.822.2092 ekaneglass@nvcc.edu
Trudy Kuehn 703.822.2016 tkuehn@nvcc.edu
Maureen Mannix 703.822.6659 mmannix@nvcc.edu 
Jennifer McKeever 703.822.6581 jmckeever@nvcc.edu 
Dr. Randa Merizian 703.822.2034 rmerizian@nvcc.edu
Donna Pfost 703.822.9055 dpfost@nvcc.edu
Christine Slevin 703.822.6643 cslevin@nvcc.edu 
Ava Smith 703.822.2728 avbrown@nvcc.edu
Jennifer Turner 703.822.0014 jturner1@nvcc.edu 
Karen Walters  703.822.2032 kpwalters@nvcc.edu 

Name Title Phone Email
Angela Brocker Nursing Skills Lab Manager 703.822.6592 abrocker@nvcc.edu
Dawn Wetmore Nursing Skills Lab Instructor 703.822.2025 dwetmore@nvcc.edu

Name Title Phone Email
Don Johnson Simulation Center Manager 703.822.6518 djohnson@nvcc.edu

NOTE: The Nursing division will not give out faculty home phone numbers. Please leave messages via office voicemail or email. Thank you.