Welcome to the Northern Virginia Community College Website

Accessibility Navigation:


NOVA President Joins Carnegie Classification’s Institutional Roundtable to Help Advance Students’ Social and Economic Mobility

Annandale, Va. – NOVA President Anne M. Kress will join a national roundtable of higher education leaders to review the Carnegie Classifications of Institutions of Higher Education through the lens of students’ social and economic mobility. The Carnegie Classifications Institutional Roundtable, whose members are college and university presidents representing a diverse range of institution types and campuses, will commence their work in November.  

“It is truly an honor to help create a new Carnegie Classifications model that will help higher education institutions better serve our nation’s students,” said Anne M. Kress, president of Northern Virginia Community College. “This impactful work closely aligns with NOVA’s commitment to inclusive excellence. It will help colleges across the country provide students with equitable access to opportunity as they work toward a brighter future.”

The American Council on Education (ACE) and the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching announced earlier this year that they are collaborating on a new version of the Carnegie Classifications – the leading framework for recognizing and describing institutional diversity in U.S. higher education. Roundtable members and data experts who make up the Technical Review Panel will work to create a new Social and Economic Mobility Classification that better captures the range of diverse missions in higher education and supports constructive efforts to use the Carnegie Classifications to better promote institutional learning and advance economic mobility. A framework is expected in late 2023 before the new Classifications are released in 2024.

To learn more about the work on the new Carnegie Classifications or to contact the

Classifications staff team, please email carnegie@acenet.edu.

Fellow National Institution Roundtable Members Include:

Sylvia Burwell, president, American University
Roslyn Clark Artis, president, Benedict College
Sue Ellspermann, president, Ivy Tech Community College
Jack DeGioia, president, Georgetown University
Joan Gabel, president, University of Minnesota
Carrie Hauser, president and CEO, Colorado Mountain College
Paul LeBlanc, president, Southern New Hampshire University
Candice McQueen, president, Lipscomb University
Felix Matos Rodriguez, chancellor, City University of New York
Juan Munoz, chancellor, University of California - Merced
Thomas Parham, president, California State University - Dominguez Hills
Bill Pink, president, Ferris State University
Madeline Pumariega, president, Miami Dade College
Philip Rogers, president, East Carolina University
Tom Stritikus, president, Fort Lewis College
David Wilson, president, Morgan State University
Kevin Worthen, president, Brigham Young University

Northern Virginia Community College (NOVA) is the largest public institution of higher learning in the Commonwealth of Virginia and one of America's largest community colleges. NOVA enrolls nearly 80,000 students at its six campuses in Alexandria, Annandale, Loudoun, Manassas, Springfield (Medical Education Campus) and Woodbridge, through NOVA Online and high school dual enrollment. We offer more than 100 associate degree and certificate programs to help our students reach their academic and professional goals through university transfers and access to the most in-demand careers. At NOVA, we strive to ensure that every student succeeds, every program achieves and every community prospers. For more information about NOVA and its programs or services, visit our website, www.nvcc.eduor call 703.323.3000.