Reporting Child Abuse and Neglect :: Northern Virginia Community College

Welcome to the Northern Virginia Community College Website

Accessibility Navigation:

Policies


Reporting Child Abuse and Neglect

Policy Number: 410

Categorized: Human Resources

Responsible Office: AVP for Human Resources

Subject: Policy and procedures for complying with Virginia law requiring reporting of child abuse and neglect.

Related Policies: Children and Visitors on Campus, Programs Involving Minors

Forms:

Additional Information:

Effective Date: 04/24/2018

Last Reviewed Date:


1. Scope

This policy applies to all employees of Northern Virginia Community College and to independent contractors and services personnel working at the College.

2. Policy Statement

All employees, who in their official or professional capacity, have reason to suspect that a minor is an abused or neglected child, are required to report the matter as soon as possible, but not longer than 24 hours after having reason to suspect a reportable offense of child abuse or neglect. Reports should be made to the Department of Social Services (DSS) toll-free child abuse and neglect hotline 1-800-552-7096.

3. Definitions

Abused or Neglected Child: Any child under 18 years of age whose parent or any person responsible for his or her care:

  1. Causes or threatens to cause non-accidental physical or mental injury, or allows such an injury;
  2. Allows a child to be present during the manufacture of a controlled substance or during the unlawful sale of such substance where such activity would constitute a felony violation;
  3. Neglects or refuses to provide adequate food, clothing, shelter, emotional nurturing or health care;
  4. Abandons the child;
  5. Neglects or refuses to provide adequate supervision in relation to a child’s age and level of development;
  6. Knowingly leaves a child alone in the same dwelling with a person, not related by blood or marriage, who has been convicted of an offense against a minor for which registration is required as a violent sexual offender; or
  7. Commits or allows to be committed any illegal sexual act upon a child, including incest, rape, indecent exposure, prostitution or allows a child to be used in any sexually explicit visual material.

Employee: any individual at any level of employment who receives compensation from NOVA.

4. Procedures

4.1. Reporting Abuse and Neglect

All employees are responsible for reporting suspected child abuse to the Department of Social Services (DSS) toll-free child abuse and neglect hotline 1-800-552-7096.

The College has designated the Human Resources Office as the office responsible for child abuse and neglect reporting. If an employee needs assistance in reporting, they may contact the Human Resources Office. Human Resources will forward the report to the Department of Social Services. Employees shall make available any information, records, or reports that document the basis for a report of child abuse or neglect.

After notification to the Hotline, reports may also be made to:

  1. College Police
  2. Arlington County Child Protective Services at 703.228.1500
  3. City of Alexandria Child Protective Services at 703.746.5800
  4. Fairfax County Child Protective Services Hotline at 703.324.7400
  5. Loudoun County Child Protective Services at 703.771.5437
  6. Prince William County Department of Social Services at 703.792.4200
  7. Employee’s supervisor

4.2. Penalties for Failing to Make a Required Report

Any person who fails to file a report as soon as possible, but not longer than 24 hours after having reason to suspect a reportable offense of child abuse or neglect, may be fined not more than $500 for the first failure and not less than $1,000 for any subsequent failures. In cases involving certain crimes of sexual assault, a person who knowingly and intentionally fails to file a report may be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.

Employees who make or cause to be made a report of child abuse or neglect that they know to be false may be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.

Employees who fail to file or forward a report as required in this policy will be subject to disciplinary action in accord with Virginia Department of Human Resource Management Policy 1.60 (Standards of Conduct) or VCCS Policy 3.12 (Faculty Sanctions), as appropriate.

Violations may also result in disciplinary action up to and including termination.

4.3 Human Resources Responsibilities

The Human Resources Department is responsible for initial communication of this policy to all employees and for the inclusion of the policy in the new employee orientation programs.

If Human Resources forwards a report of abuse or neglect to Department of Social Services on behalf of an employee, Human Resources will follow up with the reporting employee on any action taken.

5. Authority

Code of Virginia §63.2-100

VCCS Policy 3.14.6 Reporting Sexual Child Abuse or Neglect

Top