Welcome to the Northern Virginia Community College Website

Accessibility Navigation:

Calliope

  • 2018 Calliope Cover Art

The student journal of art and literature

Publication and Writing Contest

The highest quality entries are published in Calliope. In addition, these entries are automatically entered in the Languages & Literature Division’s Best in Publication contest.

Artwork is awarded for: cover-$150, 1st-$100 2nd-$75 and 3rd-$50. The prizes are provided by the Humanities Division.

Literary works are awarded for: 1st-$100, 2nd-$75 and 3rd-$50, in each literary category. These prizes are provided by the Division of Languages & Literature.

Winners are acknowledged and will read from their works at the Spring Calliope Awards Celebration in the CE Forum at Annandale.

Faculty, please contact Til Turner or Adam Chiles if you would like a Calliope representative to visit your classes to explain the journal and contest to your students. If you would like additional copies of the journal or student flyers to circulate among your students, please email your request to tturner@nvcc.edu,  or acchiles@nvcc.edu.

 submit

Issues
Podcasts

2018

  • Podcast - Listen to winners from the 2018 Poetry, Nonfiction, and English as a Second Language categories, as they read from their works.

2017

  • Podcast #1 - Listen to winners from the 2017 Poetry and Nonfiction categories, as they read from their works.
  • Podcast #2 - Listen to winners from the 2017 Fiction and ESL categories, as they read from their works.

2016

  • Podcast #1 - Listen to winners from the 2016 Fiction and Poetry categories, as they read from their works.
  • Podcast #2 - Listen to winners from the 2016 ESL and Creative Non-Fiction categories, as they read from their works.

2015

2015 Calliope Awards Ceremony

2014

  • Podcast #1 - Listen to winners from the 2014 Fiction and Poetry categories, as they read from their works.
  • Podcast #2 - Listen to winners from the 2014 English as a Second Language, Creative Nonfiction, and Poetry and Prose in Foreign Languages categories, as they read from their works.

2013

  • Podcast #1 - Listen to winners from the 2013 Poetry and Creative Nonfiction categories, as they read from their works.
  • Podcast #2 - Listen to winners from the 2013 Fiction and English as a Second Language categories, as they read from their works. 

2012

  • Podcast #1 - Listen to winners from the 2012 Fiction and Foreign Language categories, as they read excerpts from their works.
  • Podcast #2 - Listen to winners from the 2012 Poetry and Creative Non-Fiction categories, as they read their works. 

2011

  • Podcast #1 - Listen to winners from the 2011 Fiction and ESL - Prose & Poetry categories, as they read excerpts from their works.
  • Podcast #2 - Listen to winners from the 2011 Poetry and Creative Non-Fiction categories, as they read their works. 

2010

  • Podcast #1 - Listen to winners from the 2010 Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction categories, as they read excerpts from their works.
  • Podcast #2 - Listen to winners from the 2010 Poetry and ESL categories, as they read their works. 

2009

  • Podcast #1 - Listen to winners from the 2009 Poetry category, as they read excerpts from their works.
  • Podcast #2 - Listen to winners from the 2009 Creative Non-Fiction category and the English as a Second Language category, as they read their works. 

2008

  • Podcast #1 - Listen to winners from the 2008 Poetry category, as they read their works.
  • Podcast #2 - Listen to winners from the 2008 Creative Non-Fiction category, as they read excerpts from their works.
  • Podcast #3 - Listen to winners from the 2008 English as a Second Language category, as they read their works.

2007

  • Podcast #1 - Listen to winners from the 2007 Poetry category, as they read their works.
  • Podcast #2 - Listen to winners from the 2007 Fiction and the Creative Non-Fiction categories, as they read excerpts from their works.
  • Podcast #3 - Listen to winners from the 2007 English as a Second Language category, as they read their works.
Submission Guidelines

Download the Guidelines flier


We invite submissions from any student enrolled in an AN class during the 2018—2019 academic year (consisting of the Fall 2018 semester and Spring 2019 semester).

To be considered, all submissions must conform to the following submission guidelines:

Deadlines

All literary and art submissions must be received in the proper format by Friday, February 15th, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. 


Written Submissions

Written work in the following categories should be submitted by clicking on the Submit button above:

  • Poetry
  • Fiction
  • Non-Fiction
  • ESL Prose or Poetry (for students currently enrolled in an ESL class)

Format Guidelines

  • Poetry should be no more than 2 pages in length (a maximum of 40 lines per page including stanza breaks)—individual lines of poetry must not exceed 85 characters across the page.
  • Fiction and Non-Fiction entries can be up to 1500 words in length.
  • All literary entries must be submitted as Word documents, single-spaced, in 12 point font (Arial or Times New Roman preferred).
  • All entries must have a unique title attached to the work. Titles for literary entries will appear on the first page of the work. (The editors may reposition the title in publication.)
  • A cover page for each submission is required. See below for cover page guidelines.

Artwork Submissions

Works of art including drawing, painting, design, ceramics, sculpture, and photography, should be submitted to Virginia Pates: vpates@nvcc.edu

Format Guidelines

  • All entries must have a unique title attached to the work.
  • Titles for artwork entries should be placed on an accompanying cover sheet (see below).
  • Artwork will be accepted in color or black and white.
  • Please note that artwork should not be submitted electronically. Instead, the original, unframed 2-D work or high quality photo of the 3-D work MUST be submitted to Virginia Pates, vpatesnvcc.edu.

Image Guidelines

  • Image size: approximately 8" x 10" @300 dpi
  • Image format: JPEG
  • Image name: Last name dot first initial dot 01 (then 02, 03, etc.)

Cover Page Guidelines

  • Cover page should be a Word document, not a PDF or JPEG.
  • Name of cover page: Last name dot first initial dot 01 (then 02, 03, etc.) to correspond with the jpeg.
  • The following information must be included on the cover page:
    • Author’s or artist’s complete name
    • Contact information
      • Address
      • Home, cell and work phone numbers
      • NVCC email address and a secondary email address
      • NOVA Emplid #
    • Title of piece
    • Submission category

Important Notice

Selected submissions may appear in the Calliope publication, on the Calliope website, and in additional media as well.

Staff
Name Email
Til Turner tturner@nvcc.edu
Adam Chiles acchiles@nvcc.edu
Susanna Ferrara sferrara@nvcc.edu
Amy Flessert aflessert@nvcc.edu
Randa Gray rgray@nvcc.edu
Rima Gulshan rgulshan@nvcc.edu
Linda Millington lmillington@nvcc.edu
Shirley Nuhn snuhn@nvcc.edu
Virginia Pates vpates@nvcc.edu
Nataliya Schetchikova nschetchikova@nvcc.edu
Stephanie Shipe sshipe@nvcc.edu
Jay Steere jsteere@nvcc.edu
Kama Storie kstorie@nvcc.edu
Carole Thurston cthurston@nvcc.edu
Top