Welcome to the Northern Virginia Community College Website

Accessibility Navigation:

State Board Committee Certifies Finalists for President at Northern Virginia Community College

News Release Highlights:

  • Finalists are certified for position of president at Northern Virginia Community College.
  • Candidates will interview at the college; an appointment is expected next month.

RICHMOND – The State Board for Community Colleges has certified finalists for the position of president at Northern Virginia Community College, with campuses in Alexandria, Annandale, Loudoun, Manassas, Springfield and Woodbridge. The college is the largest higher education institution in Virginia and the second largest community college in the nation.

The four finalists include Dr. Eugene V. Giovannini, of Gilbert, AZ; Dr. Dawn S. Lindsay, of Annapolis, MD; Dr. Scott Ralls, of Raleigh, NC; and Dr. Walt A. Tobin, of St. Matthews, SC.

Dr. Eugene V. Giovannini is currently president of the Maricopa County Community College District’s Maricopa Corporate College, a 10-college district workforce solutions provider, a position he has held since 2013. Previously he was president of Maricopa’s GateWay Community College in Phoenix from 2002 to 2013 and an adjunct faculty member at Northern Arizona University in Flagstaff. He has also served as vice president of Burlington County College in Pemberton, NJ and as dean of instructional affairs and interim director of student services at Ivy Tech Community College-Southwest in Evansville, IN.  He holds a doctorate in community college education from Virginia Tech and a master’s and bachelor’s degree from Bloomsburg University in Bloomsburg, PA. 

Dr. Dawn S. Lindsay is currently president of Anne Arundel Community College in Arnold, MD, a position she has held since 2012. Prior to that she was superintendent and president of Glendale Community College in Glendale, CA from 2009 – 2012, where she also served as executive vice president in 2009 and as vice president for instructional services from 2007-2009. Previously she held administrative leadership positions at Riverside Community College and at Saddleback College, also in California, and was a Youth Services Coordinator in the Howard County Police Department in Endicott, Maryland and addiction treatment program coordinator at Greater Laurel Beltsville Hospital. She holds a doctorate of education from Pepperdine University as well as master’s and bachelor’s degrees from Western Maryland College.

Dr. Scott Ralls is president of the North Carolina Community College System, where he serves as CEO of a system of 58 community colleges, a position he has had since May 2008. Previously he was president of Craven Community College in New Bern and Havelock, NC from 2002-2008, and was vice president for economic and workforce development for the North Carolina Community College System from 1999-2000. He also served in other workforce positions for the North Carolina Community College System, for the North Carolina Chamber of Commerce and for the U.S. Department of Labor. He holds a doctorate and a master’s degree in industrial and organizational psychology from the University of Maryland-College Park and a bachelor’s degree from the University of North Carolina.

Dr. Walt A. Tobin is currently president and CEO of Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical College in Orangeburg, SC, a position he has held since 2011. Previously he was interim president and CEO of Denmark Technical College in Denmark, SC, from 2009-2010, and he was vice president for academic affairs and chief academic officer at Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical College from 2002-2011. Prior to joining the South Carolina technical colleges he held several positions in K-12 administration in SC. He holds doctoral degrees in education administration from the Univeristy of South Carolina and a bachelor’s degree from Clemson University.

Candidates will attend college interviews at the community college in March; VCCS Chancellor Glenn DuBois hopes to make the appointment in late March. The appointee will replace Dr. Robert G. Templin, who retired this year after more than 12 years with Northern Virginia Community College.

Media Contacts
Jeffrey Kraus
Asst. Vice Chancellor for Public Relations
(804) 592-6767

Northern Virginia Community College is the largest institution of higher education in the Commonwealth of Virginia and one of America's largest community colleges. NOVA enrolls more than 75,000 students at its six campuses in Alexandria, Annandale, Loudoun, Manassas, Springfield and Woodbridge, and through the Extended Learning Institute. For more information about NOVA and its programs or services, call 703-323-3000 or visit the College's Web site, www.nvcc.edu.