Welcome to the Northern Virginia Community College Website

Accessibility Navigation:


NOVA faculty honored for excellence in teaching and learning

Back row: LTR Dean Frances Villagran-Glover; Natural Science & Math Instructor and Asst. Dean Camisha Parker; IST Professor & Program Head Paula Ford; Communication Studies Professor & Asst. Dean Bryan Brown; and Mathematics, Science & Engineering Dean Chad Knights. Front row: OTA Program Associate Professor and Asst. Dean Meg Cook; Physics Instructor Francesca Viale; English Asst. Professor Kelly Usher; English Asst. Professor and Lead Asst. Dean Shonette Grant and English Asst. Professor Robyn Russo. Not shown: Dir. of Enrollment & Academic Administration Heidi Adamson, Biology Asst. Professor & Lead Asst. Dean Margaret Emblom-Callahan and Student Services Associate Dean Steven Rakoff.

Thirteen faculty from Northern Virginia Community College were honored on May 27 at the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD) International Excellence Award dinner in Austin, Texas as part of their annual conference. NISOD recognizes instructors from community colleges across the country for their excellence in teaching and learning. Individual NOVA faculty members were nominated by their campus provosts and approved by NOVA President Scott Ralls.

Congratulations to NOVA’s NISOD Excellent Award recipients:

Heidi Adamson, Director, Enrollment Management and Academic Administration (Manassas Campus)

Bryan Brown, Professor, Communication Studies and Theatre (Woodbridge Campus)

Meagan Cook, Associate Professor, Allied Health/Occupational Therapy Assistant Program (Medical Education Campus)

Paula Ford, Assistant Dean, Information Technology (Woodbridge Campus)

Shonette Grant, Professor/Lead Assistant Dean, English (Alexandria Campus)

Anne-Mette Harding, Assistant Professor, Nursing (Medical Education Campus)

Chad Knights, Dean, Mathematics, Science and Engineering (Alexandria Campus)

Camisha Parker, Assistant Dean, Mathematics and Computer Science (Woodbridge Campus)

Steven Rakoff, Associate Dean, Student Success (Manassas Campus)

Robyn Russo, Assistant Professor/Assistant Dean, English (Loudoun Campus)

Kelly Usher, Assistant Professor, Developmental English (Manassas Campus)

Francesca Viale, Professor, Physics (Loudoun Campus)

Frances Villagran-Glover, Dean, Learning and Technology Resources (Alexandria Campus)

The NISOD Excellence Awards provide NISOD-member colleges with an opportunity to recognize individuals doing extraordinary work on their campuses. Established in 1991, more than 25,000 recipients have been honored with the award by their colleges. Each May, during NISOD’s International Conference on Teaching and Leadership Excellence, recipients are celebrated during a formal gathering to recognize their contributions and achievements. NISOD provides budget-friendly, high-quality and faculty-focused programs and resources for community and technical colleges that want to make the most of their professional development dollars.

Media Contact: Kristina Ogburn | 703.503.6338 | kogburn@nvcc.edu



Northern Virginia Community College is the largest institution of higher education in the Commonwealth of Virginia and one of America's largest community colleges. NOVA enrolls more than 75,000 students at its six campuses in Alexandria, Annandale, Loudoun, Manassas, Springfield and Woodbridge, and through NOVA Online. For more information about NOVA and its programs or services, call 703-323-3000 or visit the College's Web site, www.nvcc.edu.