Welcome to the Northern Virginia Community College Website

Accessibility Navigation:


Alexandria Recognizes Faculty and Staff at Netherton Awards

Alexandria Provost Annette Haggray
Alexandria Provost Annette Haggray with Netherton Award recipients Dr. Carolyn Lorente, Linda Campos and Dr. Marius Ratolojanahary, and Alexandria Campus Forum Council Chair Janet Giannotti.

On April 27, the Alexandria Campus celebrated and recognized college, campus and adjunct faculty and staff for their achievements during the 2016-17 academic year. The recipients received their awards during the annual Jean C. Netherton Awards Ceremony.

“It’s important to take out time to say thank you to faculty and staff. We’re grateful for your service and all you’ve done this year,” said Alexandria Provost M. Annette Haggray. Janet Giannotti, chair for the Alexandria Campus Forum Council, said the council has had a great year and they’ve enjoyed working with Haggray on a number of projects, including organizing the Netherton Awards Ceremony.

The Jean C. Netherton Award is the Alexandria Campus award which recognizes employees for outstanding service to the campus community during their tenure at the College.

Dr. Jean C. Netherton served NOVA in various roles from 1968 to 1992. From 1968 to 1970, she was an associate professor of physical education and was instrumental in developing the college’s physical education program. In 1970, Netherton became NOVA’s dean for instructional services, a position she held until she was appointed provost of the Alexandria Campus in 1976. She served as provost until she retired in 1992. 

This year’s Netherton honorees included Dr. Marius Ratolojanahary (Adjunct Award), Linda Campos (Classified Staff) and Dr. Carolyn Lorente (Faculty Award).

Ratolojanahary has been an adjunct professor of political science at the Alexandria Campus for five years. When he presented Ratolojanahary with the award, Dr. Jack Lechelt described the professor as someone who everyone enjoys working with including students.

“It’s really a joy to call him a colleague even though I don’t see him enough,” Lechelt said. He has earned high marks from me, his students and his other colleagues.”

Campos is heavily involved in a number of activities on the Alexandria Campus. As the Liberal Arts Division Coordinator, she serves on several committees, assists faculty and staff in organizing events and contributes to making the student experience at the Alexandria Campus a positive one. Those who nominated Campos described her as intelligent, dedicated, involved, compassionate and caring.

Matt Todd with the Alexandria Campus Library presented the Faculty Award to Lorente during the ceremony. Her colleagues who nominated her described her as extremely intelligent, kind, compassionate and caring. Todd also read confessions from some of her former students who said they enjoyed her teaching style and looked forward to attending her classes. Lorente is frequently contributes to the Women’s Center and several events throughout the year including Elect Her and Women Helping Women.

The Alexandria Campus also recognized other faculty and staff members for supporting and helping with various events and initiatives throughout the year by presenting gift cards to those who made themselves available when they were needed and went the extra mile. They also listed all of the faculty and staff who reached personal and professional goals in the 2016-17 academic year. After the ceremony, lunch was served during the annual cookout event.

The Netherton Awards Ceremony is organized by the Alexandria Campus Forum Council each year.

Northern Virginia Community College is the largest institution of higher education in the Commonwealth of Virginia and one of America's largest community colleges. NOVA enrolls more than 75,000 students at its six campuses in Alexandria, Annandale, Loudoun, Manassas, Springfield and Woodbridge, and through NOVA Online. For more information about NOVA and its programs or services, call 703-323-3000 or visit the College's Web site, www.nvcc.edu.