Welcome to the Northern Virginia Community College Website

Accessibility Navigation:


Annandale Campus Acknowledges Student Accomplishments

NOVA President Scott Ralls
NOVA President Scott Ralls was the keynote speaker for the Student Achievement Awards Ceremony at the Annandale Campus.
Award recipients Camila Garcia and Laura Garcia
Physical Education Assistant Dean Sue Thompson and Liberal Arts Dean Burton Peretti with Clayton Joyner Award recipients Camila Garcia and Laura Garcia who are twin sisters.
Student award winners
The Math, Science and Engineering Department recognized students for their achievements during the 2016-17 academic year.

During its 2017 Student Achievement Awards Ceremony, Northern Virginia Community College’s Annandale Campus acknowledged 50 students for their accomplishments and for receiving prestigious scholarships to continue on their educational journeys. The ceremony was hosted at the Richard J. Ernst Community Cultural Center at the Annandale Campus.

Annandale Campus Provost Pam Hilbert opened the ceremony by congratulating the students and thanking everyone who supports them including family, friends, faculty and staff. Hilbert said that NOVA continues to grow and make an impact on student lives as exceptional students continue to excel and make an impact on the College.

“We hope that as more students attend NOVA, they’ll be able to experience some of these growing opportunities,” Hilbert said.

Hilbert introduced the keynote speaker NOVA President Scott Ralls, mentioning his aspirations to continue to provide unique opportunities for a diverse student body at NOVA. During his keynote address, Ralls congratulated and thanked the award recipients, their families and friends and the faculty and staff who work in various departments to make the College great.

“Today we’re celebrating student accomplishments. This is my very favorite time of the year because of times like today,” Ralls said. “The weather is nice outside, and the flowers are blooming, but our students have grown and bloomed into who they are as individuals as well.”

Ralls encouraged the students to continue with confidence to reach their goals and succeed in their chosen careers. He also asked them to share their stories of overcoming various circumstances and how NOVA helped along the way.

Refreshments were served before and after the ceremony. Event organizers included Connie Childress, Jen Daniels, Celeste Dubeck-Smith, Abe Eftekhari, Judith Gomez, Nancy Minogue, Zahra Ogun, Burt Peretti and Jennifer Rainey.

Awards were announced for Business and Public Services, Languages and Literature, Liberal Arts and Math, Science and Engineering.


Award Recipients

Business and Public Services

Jason Erdo, Vincenza Marie Githens, Ngoc Truong Bao Huynth, Daniel Yenny Macedo Diaz, Ronald Lee Phelps Jr., Robin Alessa Schrantz and Shengwei Hu


Languages and Literature

Matthew Dudley Bryant, Num Chhetri, Aleksandra Karolina Deptuch, Radwa Elsayed, Courtney Keys, Yekaterina Konstantinovna Le, Ayda Mengistie, Karen Ritchie, Shaun Salehi, Erika Schaaf, Piang-Or Tosaganjana and Michael Worm


Liberal Arts

Rakan Alzarqa Nina Avedissian, Steele Farnsworth, Camila Garcia, Laura Garcia, Rachel Giles, Gustav Hebner, Junyoung Heo, Hongbo Ma, Jennifer Mills, Jerico Ortanez, Anna Otto, Sofia de la Pena, Elizabeth Peters, Alisa Punyaratabhan, Jui-Tao Tsai, Magnus, Urps and Michelle Washington


Math, Science and Engineering

Pyung Lee, Ryan Bhojwani, Rachel Buck, Pyung Lee, Adelaide Odame, Emanuel Okorie, Vanessa Puello Lozano, Joshua Ricciardi, Vo Thanh Long Tran and Alejandro Zuniga Sosa

Northern Virginia Community College is the largest institution of higher education in the Commonwealth of Virginia and one of America's largest community colleges. NOVA enrolls more than 75,000 students at its six campuses in Alexandria, Annandale, Loudoun, Manassas, Springfield and Woodbridge, and through NOVA Online. For more information about NOVA and its programs or services, call 703-323-3000 or visit the College's Web site, www.nvcc.edu.