Welcome to the Northern Virginia Community College Website

Accessibility Navigation:

Faculty of the Year

The Alumni Federation honors faculty at NOVA for their achievements in the classroom every year. Faculty are nominated by students and alumni for making a difference in the student’s life. Awards are presented every April to each nominee and an overall winner is selected for each campus, and to adjunct faculty.

The 2016 NVCC Alumni Federation Faculty of the Year reception was held on April 8 at the Richard J. Ernst Community Cultural Center on NOVA’s Annandale Campus. The following individuals received the 2016 Faculty of the Year awards:

  • Christine Bozarth - Alexandria, Biology
  • Shelley Jaye - Annandale, Geology
  • Chola Chhetri - Loudoun, Information Technology
  • Maryellen Ryan - Manassas, Economics
  • Mary Pat O’Brien - MEC, Nursing
  • Theana Kastens - Woodbridge, English
  • Jacquelyn Van Holland - Communications
  • Annie Hui - Computer Science
  • Michelle Perschbacher - Math

Thank you for taking the time to recognize so many of our outstanding NOVA faculty members with your nominations. Their work is the foundation for NOVA’s continued success and the success of our thousands of students who have greater access to higher education.

2016-2017 Faculty of the Year Nomination

The NVCC Alumni Federation Faculty of the Year Nomination will open again in November 2016.

One full-time teaching faculty member from each campus and adjunct faculty from the College will be selected from the nominees by the Alumni Federation Awards Committee. Only alumni and students of Northern Virginia Community College may nominate faculty for the award. Nominations will not be accepted for faculty members who have received the award within the past three years. Only teaching faculty and adjunct faculty are eligible.

Click on the button below to submit a nominations form.

Submit Your Nominations

Previous Winners

Dr. Ali Soleymani 2012
Dr. Robert Hannon 2013
Andrew Bowen 2014
Elizabeth Bull 2015

Robert Martin 2012
Dr. Larry Frazier 2013
Dr. Walerian Majewski 2014
Dr. Jacintha Jayatilake 2015

Edward Perry 2012
Dr. Gbago E. Creppy 2013
Johanna Debrecht 2014
Dr. Amy Laubinger 2015

Michael Carrington 2012
Patricia Gary 2013
Dr. Jean Goodine 2014
Cristina Sparks-Early 2015

Rebecca Sutter 2012
Debra Loff-Like 2013
Dr. Megan Cook 2014
Omobola Oyeleye 2015

Cathleen Behan 2012
William McLaughlin 2013
Charles Taylor 2014
Andrew Young 2015

Joan Bedore 2012
Todd Messegee 2013
Abdulla Daouk 2014
Doriann Hildreth-Fisher 2014
Timothy Hudenburg 2014
Phil Doughty 2015
Jacob Pilipski 2015