Welcome to the Northern Virginia Community College Website

Accessibility Navigation:

myNOVA

The program is designed to prepare students to participate as contributing members of the healthcare team, rendering direct care to patients in a variety of healthcare facilities and agencies. Upon satisfactory completion of the program, students will be eligible to apply to take the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX-RN®) leading to state licensure as a registered nurse (RN) and are qualified to assume registered nurse positions in hospitals, nursing homes, clinics, physicians’ offices, HMOs, and other community-based settings.

Program Details

The AAS in Nursing is a five semester program: first semester students complete pre-requisite course work to prepare for application to the Nursing program. Subsequent course of study includes four semesters of nursing coursework (Levels 1-4). The NOVA Nursing program, along with other nursing programs in the Virginia Community College System, moved to a common Concept Based Curriculum (CBC). The CBC was designed by nurse educators across the state and is intended to move away from a content-laden curriculum to a curriculum in which knowledge transfer will occur across multiple contexts. The conceptual model of learning incorporates an active learning culture and focuses on deep learning of nursing’s most central concepts. The CBC is fully approved by the by the Virginia Board of Nursing https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/.

See the Nursing Division website for information on how to apply. Admission to the program is competitive.

Administration

Name Title Phone Email
Gary Sargent Dean of Nursing  703.822.0016 gsargent@nvcc.edu 
Dr. Charemon Brooks Associate Dean of Nursing 703.822.2727 cbrooks@nvcc.edu
Comora Smith Clinical Coordinator 703.822.2712 csmith@nvcc.edu
Patricia King Executive Assistant 703.822.6698 pking@nvcc.edu
Velery Brown Spring Cohort Administrative Assistant 703.822.6519 vlbrown@nvcc.edu
Suhel Dakwala Administrative Assistant, Clinicals 703.822.6649 sdakwala@nvcc.edu
Eric Shaw Fall Cohort Administrative Assistant 703.822.9044 eshaw@nvcc.edu

Faculty

Name Phone Email
Dr. Esther Abisogun 703.822.2014 eabisogun@nvcc.edu
Dr. Rita Boamah 703.822.2726 rboamah@nvcc.edu
Dr. Cordellia Bright 703.822.2034 cbright@nvcc.edu 
Brenda Clark 703.822.9051 baclark@nvcc.edu
Georganne Curtin 703.822.2088 gecurtin@nvcc.edu
Kayleen Galvan 703.822.6591 kgalvan@nvcc.edu 
Dr. Anne-Mette Harding 703.822.6672 agharding@nvcc.edu
Dorothea Johnson 703.822.2082 dljohnson@nvcc.edu
Elizabeth Kane-Glass 703.822.2092 ekaneglass@nvcc.edu
Trudy Kuehn 703.822.2016 tkuehn@nvcc.edu
Maureen Mannix 703.822.6659 mmannix@nvcc.edu 
Jennifer McKeever 703.822.6581 jmckeever@nvcc.edu 
Dr. Randa Merizian 703.822.2034 rmerizian@nvcc.edu
Dr. Mary Moseley 703.822.6645 mmoseley@nvcc.edu
Donna Pfost 703.822.9055 dpfost@nvcc.edu
Christine Slevin 703.822.6643 cslevin@nvcc.edu 
Ava Smith 703.822.2728 avbrown@nvcc.edu
Jennifer Turner 703.822.0014 jturner1@nvcc.edu 
Karen Walters  703.822.2032 kpwalters@nvcc.edu 

Nursing Skills Laboratory Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Angela Brocker Nursing Skills Lab Manager 703.822.6592 abrocker@nvcc.edu
Aiza Brahim Nursing Skills Lab Instructor 703.822.2084 abrahim@nvcc.edu 
Mary Ellen Krolman Nursing Skills Lab Instructor 703.822.6566 mkrolman@nvcc.edu
Dawn Wetmore Nursing Skills Lab Instructor 703.822.2025 dwetmore@nvcc.edu

Campus Simulation Center Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Don Johnson Simulation Center Manager 703.822.6518 djohnson@nvcc.edu

NOTE: The Nursing Division will not give out faculty home phone numbers. Please leave messages via office voicemail or email. Thank you.

Transfer Opportunities

Transfer is not the primary purpose of this credential; however, NOVA may have agreements that facilitate the transfer of this and other career-oriented programs to selected senior institutions. In order to learn more about possible transfer opportunities please visit: https://www.nvcc.edu/transfer/. Students interested in transferring should contact an advisor or counselor to discuss their options and plans.

Credit for Prior Learning

Northern Virginia Community College accepts industry-standard certifications, credentials and/or professional courses for credit. Broadly, licenses, credentials and/or certifications must be current and valid for consideration. For more information regarding the status of the certification and its eligibility for credit, please see an advisor or faculty members in the discipline area that awards CPL credit.

The most current information can be found here for CPL: Certifications and Credentials.

Program Degrees and Certificates

Loading...

Career Prospects

The NOVA nursing graduates have performed consistently well on their licensure examination. View the NCLEX-RN pass rates for the NOVA Nursing Program: https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/PublicResources/EducationPrograms/. Graduates from the NOVA Nursing program are in high demand as professional nurses in hospitals, long-term care facilities, and community health, and other health care agencies. The graduates provide safe and effective entry-level nursing care in the 21st-century healthcare environment to meet the needs of NOVA’s community and its diverse citizens.

Get Started

Want to get started with this program? Speak with an adviser to start shaping your educational journey at NOVA.

Contact an Advisor

Top