Welcome to the Northern Virginia Community College Website

Accessibility Navigation:

Personnel Services Committee

The Personnel Services Committee counsels and advises working groups and the College community. The committee makes recommendations on matters pertaining to the welfare of the faculty (both instructional and administrative) and classified staff of the College. The committee studies, gathers information, conducts discussions, and otherwise surveys the environment relating to this charge. In addition, the committee discharges other duties as delegated by the College. The committee is also responsible for recommending candidates for the President's Sabbatical Award as well as candidates for the honor of Classified Emeritus to the president.


The Personnel Services Committee consists of the following participants:

  • Vice President of Finance & Administrative Services, Ex-Officio
  • Teaching and Professional Faculty (one from the Extended Learning Institute, at least one from each campus, and at most three from any one campus) (10)
  • Classified Staff (one from each campus, one from the College Human Resources Office and one from the College staff or from the Extended Learning Institute) (8)
  • Administrative Faculty (at most one from any one campus or the Extended Learning Institute) (1)

Current Members
Committee Members Campus Position
Ina Dimkova CS VP of Finance
Kristin Balbuena AN Professional Faculty
George Gonchar AL Teaching Faculty
Jack Lechelt, Chair AL Teaching Faculty
Necmi Mutlu AN Teaching Faculty
Dominique Hubbard AL Teaching Faculty
Alice Tucker MA Teaching Faculty
Susan Thompson WO Teaching Faculty
Patty Octavio MEC Teaching Faculty
Laura Jacyna LO Professional Faculty
Jennifer Lerner NOVA Online Professional Faculty
Josefina Hernandez CL Human Resources
Patricia Cooper AL Classified Staff
Jack Zegeer, Vice Chair LO Classified Staff
Germaine Andino-Rexach MEC Classified Staff
Tatyana Schum LO Classified Staff
ThuyTien Ngo-Nguyen MA Classified Staff
FNOVA Onlinecia Blakeney AN Classified Staff
Maddie Coradin WO Classified Staff
David Epstein WO Admin Faculty
Ellen Fancher-Ruiz AN Admin Faculty
Matt Todd  AL Admin Faculty


Location: Brault Building, Room 276

Time: 1:30 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.


  • 13 Sep 2018
  • 11 Oct 2018
  • 8 Nov 2018
  • 13 Dec 2018 - Special Meeting for President's Sabbatical Award Voting
  • 10 Jan 2019
  • 14 Feb 2019
  • 14 Mar 2019
  • 11 Apr 2019

2018 – 2019

2016 – 2017

2015 – 2016

2014 – 2015

2013 - 2014 

2012 - 2013 

2011 - 2012 

2010 - 2011 

2009 - 2010 

2008 - 2009 

2007 – 2008

2006 - 2007 

2005 - 2006 

2004 - 2005 

2003 - 2004 

President's Sabbatical Award

The President's Sabbatical Award is designed to foster creative energy by providing faculty with a one-semester sabbatical leave with full pay. Each academic year, a maximum of three faculty members, one of whom can be on a 12-month contract, can receive the award.

Award proposals should be no more than 1,000 words and specify how the sabbatical leave will uniquely benefit both the individual and the College. The proposal and NVCC Form 105-100 should be sent electronically to the chair of the Personnel Services Committee, by November 1. Faculty members on the Personnel Services Committee (who are not eligible for the award) will evaluate the proposals and recommend up to three names to the President, who selects the award winners. Award recipients will present a lecture on their sabbatical experience to the College community during the year following their leave.

NVCC Form 105-100 is available in the Forms Library. Applicants must be NOVA Onlinegible for sabbatical leave and have completed six years of service in the VCCS to qualify for the President's Sabbatical Award. Applicants who have previously won the President's Sabbatical Award must have served the College six years since their last award.

President's Sabbatical Rubric - The Personnel Services Committee will use this rubric to evaluate all applications. Please review the criteria when writing your sabbatical application.

A list of recent award winners and examples of successful Presidential Sabbatical Award proposals are below:

2018-2019 Sabbatical Winners

2019-2020 Sabbatical Winners

Questions concerning this professional development opportunity should be directed to Jack Lechelt (AL), Chair of the Personnel Services Committee.