Welcome to the Northern Virginia Community College Website

Accessibility Navigation:


  • 50th Anniversary Masthead

College History

1964 – Northern Virginia Technical College was established.

1965 – The first classes were held in a single building in Baileys Crossroads. Robert W. McKee was the first president.

1966 – The College was renamed Northern Virginia Community College (NOVA). The College purchased 78 acres in Annandale in 1966 for construction of the first of six NOVA campuses.

1967 – NOVA opened its first campus, the Annandale Campus.

1968 – Dr. Richard J. Ernst became NOVA’s second president.

1969 – The original plan of establishing one central campus and four satellite centers was changed to a concept of five campuses supported by
a central administration.

1971 – Construction began on the Eastern Campus, later known as the Alexandria Campus.

1972 – Originally known as the Western Campus, the Manassas Campus first offered classes in the fall.

1972 – Originally known as the Southern Campus, the Woodbridge Campus first offered classes in the fall.

1973 – The Alexandria Campus opened.

1974 – The Loudoun Campus opened.

1975 – NOVA offered its first distance learning courses.

1979 – The NVCC Educational Foundation was created.

1983 – The Alumni Federation was chartered.

1988 – The semester system began at NOVA.

1998 – Dr. Richard J. Ernst retired and Dr. Belle Wheelan became NOVA’s third president.

2002 – Dr. Belle Wheelan left NOVA to become the Secretary of Education for Virginia. Dr. Charles L. Downs served as interim president from January to August. Dr. Robert G. Templin, Jr. became the College’s fourth president in August.

2003 – The Medical Education Campus (MEC) opened in Springfield in the fall.

2006 – The Arlington Center and Reston Center opened for classes.

2007 – NOVA became an Achieving the Dream College.

2008 – The Innovation Park Center in Manassas opened for classes.

2009 – Signal Hill in Sterling opened for classes.

2010 – NOVA was distinguished as an Achieving the Dream Leader College.

2015 – Dr. Robert G. Templin, Jr., retired as NOVA’s president.

2015 - Dr. Scott Ralls becomes NOVA's 5th president.