Welcome to the Northern Virginia Community College Website

Accessibility Navigation:

Natural Science and Mathematics Division

The Natural Science and Mathematics Division at NOVA’s Woodbridge Campus is committed to offering high quality education in STEM subject areas and career programs.

Programs/Disciplines
Division Faculty/Staff

Division Faculty and Staff

Air Conditioning and Refrigeration
Jay (Rusty) Jensen
Program Head
Air Conditioning & Refrigeration    
703.878.5883    
jjensen@nvcc.edu

Adam Johnson
703.878.4662
ajohnson@nvcc.edu

Biology
Christian Bartley
Assistant Dean
Biology/Human A&P/ Micorbiology/Environmental Science    
703.878.5619    
cbartley@nvcc.edu

Biology Faculty
Christian Bartley    
703.878.5619    
cbartley@nvcc.edu

Patrick Dawes
703.878.5613    
pdawes@nvcc.edu 

Waqar Kazmi    
703.878.4522    
wkazmi@nvcc.edu     

Dr. Sara Mendoza de Granja    
703.878.6107    
smendozadegranja@nvcc.edu   

Dr. Shabnan Meyering    
703.878.6168    
smeyering@nvcc.edu

Dr. Vincent Ng    
703-878-5886    
vng@nvcc.edu

Sima Otsuka    
703-878-5622    
sotsuka@nvcc.edu 

Physical Science
Dr. Vasanthi Krishnan
Assistant Dean
Chemistry/Geology/Physics    
703.878.5615    
vkrishnan@nvcc.edu

Chemistry Faculty    
Dr. Vasanthi Krishnan    
703.878.5615    
vkrishnan@nvcc.edu
    
Edward Zuniga    
703.878.6108    
ezuniga@nvcc.edu

Massage Therapy Program
Jennifer Sovine
Program Head
Massage Therapy Program    
703.878.4563    
jsovine@nvcc.edu 

Geology Faculty    
Erik Burtis    
703.878.5614    
eburtis@nvcc.edu

Physics Faculty
Dr. Mohammad Arif    
703.878.4657    
marif@nvcc.edu

Mathematics/MTT/Computer Science
Edward (Tony) Smith
Assistant Dean
MTH/MTT/CSC    
703.878.5889    
easmith@nvcc.edu 

Laurie Digirolamo
Program Head
Developmental Math (MTT)    
703.878.2401    
ldigirolamo@nvcc.edu

Mathematics/ Developmental Math (MTT)
Hussein Abdirahman    
703.878.4546    
huabdirahman@nvcc.edu

Balcha Borgi    
703.878.5647    
bborgi@nvcc.edu

Ousmane Diall    
703.878.4655    
odiall@nvcc.edu

Laurie Digirolamo    
703.878.2401    
ldigirolamo@nvcc.edu
    
Beverlee Drucker    
703.878.5618    
bdrucker@nvcc.edu
    
Dr. Donald Gooden    
703.878.5623    
dgooden@nvcc.edu

Dr. Tatyana Kravchuk    
703.878.5611    
tkravchuk@nvcc.edu

Teresa Ryerse Overton    
703.878.5884    
toverton@nvcc.edu

Dr. Timothy Seaman    
703.878.5723    
tseaman@nvcc.edu

Edward (Tony) Smith    
703.878.5889    
easmith@nvcc.edu

Computer Science Faculty    
Dr. Timothy Seaman    
703.878.5723
tseaman@nvcc.edu

Faculty Advisors

Faculty Advisors

Please visit the Natural Science & Mathematics Division to be assigned to a faculty advisor, or Call 703.878.5739 or 703.878.5741.

Program

Faculty Advisors

Air Conditioning and Refrigeration

Adam Johnson

Chris Rhyne

Larry Secondo

Jay Jensen

Computer Science

Erik Burtis

Ousmane Diall

Timothy Seaman

Tony Smith

General Studies (working on prerequisites for an Allied Health or Nursing degree)

Melissa Nystrom

Jennifer Sovine

Miriam St. Clair

Massage Therapy

Nancy Crippen

Jennifer Sovine

Science, including Mathematics

Mohammed Arif

Christian Bartley

Beverlee Drucker

Donald Gooden

Tatyana Kravchuk

Vasanthi Krishnan

Vincent Ng

Sima Otsuka

Teresa Overton

Camisha Parker

Patrick Dawes 

Edward Zuniga

Top