Effective July 1, 2004, the state of Virginia amended and reenacted legislation (Virginia Code Section 16.1-278.15) stating that "the parties to any petition where a child whose custody, visitation, or support is contested shall show proof that they have attended within the 12 months prior to their court appearance or that they shall attend within 45 days thereafter an educational seminar....approved by the court."
This seminar fulfills the requirements of this law. It is a four-hour interactive program that teaches the importance of protecting and enhancing the child’s emotional development. It does not tell parents how to raise their children, nor does it attempt to reunite couples. Emphasis is placed on strengthening the family unit by focusing on what the children are going through and providing ways to help them cope with the divorce and feelings of loss. Also, it attempts to improve communication between former partners and their children and help parents to identify and handle the warning signs of depression and anger.
The tuition includes all course materials. Please arrive 10 minutes before the class start time for check-in. A photo ID is required. Under no circumstance are children of any age allowed to attend this class. It is also recommended that the parties involved in the dispute attend separate class sessions.