Home  >  Catalog/Schedule  >  Schedule of Classes > Honors

Schedule of classes -- Summer 2013

HONORS CLASSES

NOVA offers honors classes to highly motivated students who seek a challenging academic experience. Through a variety of teaching methods, you will learn to think broadly and independently about the material covered. Honors classes are identified by an “H” after the course listings.

Honors course offerings may vary from campus to campus. Typically, Honors courses are offered in two ways:

  • Honors Options: Regular course sections in which students may complete a special Honors component of the course, and receive an Honors designation for that course.
  • Honors Courses: Special sections are designated as full Honors classes with an average of 16–20 students in a seminar-style setting.

Honors faculty advisors and Honors counselors are available at each campus to aid you with course selection. The Student Services Center, Counseling Office, and Honors Campus Chairs can provide you with further information.

Admission to Individual Honors Courses

Admission to individual honors courses and options requires approval of the division, course instructor, or counselor based on prior achievement or faculty recommendation, and submission of the Honors Course Permission form. Any one of the criteria in the chart below is sufficient as long as course prerequisites and placement requirements are met.  For Honors Option courses, submit the Honors Option Agreement form.

English

Math

Document an average score of >600 on the SAT Critical Reading and Essay test, with no score <500.

Document a score of >600 on the new Math SAT exam.

Graduate high school in the top 10% of your class.

Graduate high school in the top 10% of your class.

Submit recommendations from two faculty based on English courses either completed at NOVA or a previous college or in progress at NOVA.

Submit recommendations from two faculty based on math or science courses either completed at NOVA or a previous college or in progress at NOVA.

Obtain recommendation of an Honors Chair or counselor based on an interview and academic excellence.

Obtain recommendation of an Honors Chair or counselor based on an interview and academic excellence.

Honors Core Curriculum

The Honors Core Curriculum is a set of general education courses applicable to many degree programs. You may satisfy the requirements of both the degree and the Honors Core by enrolling in the Honors sections of courses or electives within the degree program requirements.

To receive the Honors Core Curriculum designation on your diploma and official transcript, you must be admitted into the Honors Core Curriculum and must complete it with a GPA of 3.0 or higher in all honors courses taken with no grade below a C in any Honors course.

Honors Program Admission Requirements

You may enter the Honors program during your first semester at NOVA, or you may enter later. To be considered for admission to the Honors Program, you must meet at least one of the requirements in each category (English and Math) of the chart above. Complete instructions may be found on the Honors Program Application.

For more information, contact one of the campus Honors chairs listed below or the Student Services Center at the campus where you to attend:

• Alexandria Campus: Shonette Grant, 703–845–6503, sgrant@nvcc.edu.
• Annandale Campus: Dr. Paul Fitzgerald, 703–323–2442 pfitzgerald@nvcc.edu.
• Loudoun Campus:   Steve Clarke, 703 – 404 –7328 , sclarke@nvcc.edu.
• Manassas Campus: Dr. Rebecca Hayes, 703–257–6695, rhayes@nvcc.edu.
• Medical Education Campus: Byron Massie, 703 –822 –6549, bmassie@nvcc.edu.
• Woodbridge Campus: Dr. Charles Errico, 703 –878 –5639, cerrico@nvcc.edu.
• College-wide Coordinator:  Stacy Rice, 703–948–7716, srice@nvcc.edu.

Visit the Honors website.