Welcome to the Northern Virginia Community College Website

Accessibility Navigation:

Welcome to the Nursing Division. Nursing is an exciting career that offers a variety of tracks for men and women who are committed to learning and helping others.

Dear Nursing Student Applicants,

As you may be aware, we have a very competitive application procedure for admission into the Nursing Program. Based on past performances on the TEAS Exam, I recommend that you set a goal of scoring in the 80s on this exam to have a competitive edge for admission, including consideration of your GPA and the other admission criteria. Beginning fall 2018, we will have a minimum TEAS score for application of 78. Thank you for your interest in the NOVA MEC Nursing Program.

Dr. Bob Wade, RN, MSN, PhD.

The first step to beginning health career training at NOVA/MEC is to attend an information session.

Click on the tracks below for information sessions.

Programs
Faculty / Staff
NursingOffice RoomWork PhoneEmail Address

Dr. Bob Wade
Interim Dean of Nursing

HE 326A 703.822.6695 rwade@nvcc.edu
Patricia King
Executive Assistant
HE 326 703.822.6698 pking@nvcc.edu
Daria Amato
Associate Dean
HE 318D 703.822.6589 damato@nvcc.edu
Velery Brown
Administrative Assistant, 1st Year
HE 318 703.822.6519 vlbrown@nvcc.edu
Suhel Dakwala
Administrative  Assistant, 2nd Year
HE 318C 703.822.6649 sdakwala@nvcc.edu
Eric Shaw
Administrative Assistant, Accelerated Tracks
HE 316 703.822.9044 eshaw@nvcc.edu
Dr. Fonya Atabong HE 326E 703.822.2727 fatabong@nvcc.edu
Dr. Sue Bhati HE 326I 703.822.2729 sbhati@nvcc.edu
Rita Boamah HE 316C 703.822.2726 rboamah@nvcc.edu
Dr. Candace Cane HE 316B 703.822.6591 ccane@nvcc.edu
Brenda Clark HE 326J 703.822.9051 baclark@nvcc.edu
Georganne Curtin HE 326B 703.822.2088 gecurtin@nvcc.edu
Kenya Fluellen HE 326D 703.822.6581 kfluellen@nvcc.edu
Anne-Mette Harding HE 326F 703.822.6672 agharding@nvcc.edu
Ann-Marie John HE 316D 703.822.9055 ajohn@nvcc.edu
Dorothea Johnson HE 326C 703.822.2082 dljohnson@nvcc.edu
Dr. Mary Moseley HE 318C 703.822.6645 mmoseley@nvcc.edu
Noreen Nutting HE 316F 703.822.6584 nnutting@nvcc.edu
Dr. Kathryn Patterson HE 318B 703.822.2090 kwpatterson@nvcc.edu
Dr. Mary Pat O’Brien HE 318A 703.822.6586 maobrien@nvcc.edu
Ava Smith HE 326H 703.822.2728 avbrown@nvcc.edu

Campus Laboratory Staff

NursingOffice RoomWork PhoneEmail Address
Esther Abisogun HE 161E 703.822.2014 eabisogun@nvcc.edu
Dianne Barrington HE 232 703.822.6606 dbarrington@nvcc.edu
Don Johnson HE 160 703.822.6518 djohnson@nvcc.edu
Mary Ellen Krolman HE 232 703.822.6566 mkrolman@nvcc.edu
Angela Brocker HE 232 703.822.6592 abrocker@nvcc.edu

NOTE: Faculty home phone numbers will not be given out. Please leave messages via office voicemail or email. Thank you.

Accreditation

Accreditation and Nursing Program

Special Accreditation Status: The Nursing Program at NOVA is conditionally approved by the Virginia State Board of Nursing, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, Phone: 804.367.4515 and is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN), 3343 Peachtree Road NE, Suite 850, Atlanta, GA 30326; Phone: 404.975.5000 or email at nlnac@nlnac.org.

Practical Nursing Program

The MEC Workforce Development Division offers a Practical Nurse Program. It is a 12 month program leading to a certificate in Practical Nursing. It prepares students for licensure through the National Council Licensing Examination (NCLEX-PN). The program has been approved by the Virginia Board of Nursing. If you have any questions, please visit the Practical Nursing Program website or call 703.822.6523.

Registered Nurse Return to Practice Course

The MEC Workforce Development and Office of Continuing Education offers a seven-week refresher course for currently licensed registered nurses who are interested in returning to clinical practice. To register or obtain more information, please view the Registered Nurse Return to Practice course description or call the Workforce Development office at 703.822.6523

Resources
Top