Welcome to the Northern Virginia Community College Website

Accessibility Navigation:

Faculty

  • children study with teacher
  • young girl painting
  • children playing with bubbles
Alexandria
NamePhoneEmail
Dr. Christine Schull
Assistant Dean
703.845.6224 cschull@nvcc.edu
Pam Blankenship (adjunct) 703.575.4722 pblankenship@nvcc.edu
Sherry Chevalley (adjunct) 703.575.4722 schevalley@nvcc.edu
Stephanie Cunningham (adjunct) 703.575.4722 scunningham@nvcc.edu
Virginia Holloway (adjunct) 703.575.4722 vholloway@nvcc.edu
Ana Hoover (adjunct) 703.575.4722 ahoover@nvcc.edu
Nancy Hoyler (adjunct) 703.575.4722 nhoyler@nvcc.edu
Amy Johnson (adjunct) 703.575.4722 ajohnson@nvcc.edu
Shelley Keith (adjunct) 703.575.4722 skeith@nvcc.edu
Trista Mason (adjunct) 703.575.4722 tmason@nvcc.edu
Kristine Ruscello (adjunct) 703.575.4722 kruscello@nvcc.edu
Yvonne Spencer (adjunct) 703.575.4722 yspencer@nvcc.edu
  • Access - Increase access to under-served populations.
  • Partnerships - Develop strategic partnerships to create gateways of opportunity.
  • Leadership - Serve as a catalyst and a leader in developing educational and economic competitiveness.
Loudoun
Susan

Susan Johnson
sjohnson@nvcc.edu
Welcome! I am Susan Johnson, head of the Early Childhood Development program for Loudoun. If you have questions about the program at NOVA or the courses offered through Loudoun please contact me.

I have an undergraduate degree in Anthropology and have always been interested in education. I started out developing courses for adults at the Internal Revenue Service before my love of children's literature and folklore set me on a path to a master's in education with a focus on Early Childhood. I went from teaching adults to three year olds and then spent over 15 years teaching pre-K. I have now come full circle -- teaching adults interested in teaching children.


Gail

Gail Multop
gmultop@nvcc.edu
I have a Master's in Education with an Early Childhood specialty from George Mason University with an undergraduate degree in music from The Cleveland Institute of Music. I spent many years as a performer including time with the Washington Opera and my own singing group, Ruby Glitz.

I am currently teaching full time at the Country Day School in McLean. My special interests are developing oral language skills and arts- based curricula.


Ann

Ann Marie Lanius
alanius@nvcc.edu
I am currently a Co-Director at St. David's Episcopal Preschool in Ashburn, VA. I have been working as a director since 2005. Prior to becoming a director, I was a lead teacher in the four-year old class and a second grade teacher in York, PA, for 10 years.

I graduated with a B.S. in Elementary Education with a concentration in Early Childhood from Indiana University of Pennsylvania. Then I received my Master's in Elementary Education with a concentration in Early Childhood from Shippensburg University in Pennsylvania. I love working in early childhood, especially with preschoolers. I also love working with adults, which is why I enjoy teaching at NOVA.

I have been an adjunct faculty member in the Early Childhood Department since 2004.


Rachel Sweeny
rsweeney@nvcc.edu
I have a Bachelor's Degree in English and Psychology from Duke University and a Master's of Education, specializing in Curriculum and Instruction, from George Mason University. I have taught everything from preschool to adults. I am currently working as an English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) teacher in Fairfax County Public Schools with kindergarten and first grade students. I work with the National Network of Partnership Schools (NNPS) action team at my school, coordinating family involvement programming across grade levels.


Julie

Julie Hellstrom
jhellstrom@nvcc.edu
I am currently working as a co-director at St. David's Episcopal Preschool in Ashburn, VA, and have been since 2003. Prior to working at St. David's, I taught fourth grade for five years and seventh grade Language Arts for two years.

I received my B.S. in Education at Indiana University in Bloomington, IN, in 1987. I enjoy working with and teaching all ages, from preschoolers to adult learners.

Manassas

Dr. Kathleen Ludlow, Program Head
kludlow@nvcc.edu
Since January 2002, Dr. Ludlow has served full-time as the Early Childhood Program Head at the Manassas Campus.  Dr. Ludlow brings a wealth of experience from both public and private sectors to NOVA.  Expertise as an early childhood educator, trainer, and former owner of early learning centers make her an ideal program head and early childhood professor. 

Ms. Bernice Mayfield
bmayfield@nvcc.edu
Since August 2014, Ms. Mayfield has served full-time as an early childhood professor at NOVA. Prior to this time, Ms. Mayfield was an adjunct at NOVA for the early childhood programs.  Ms. Mayfield’s experience, in both public and private sectors of early childhood education as an educator and mentor, make her an ideal early childhood professor.

Adjuncts

Ms. Lucy Amos
Experienced early childhood educator and trainer.  Ms. Amos brings a global perspective to the early childhood classroom.  Ms. Amos enjoys spending time with her family and early childhood advocacy.

Dr. Rosemary Burton
Long time adjunct professor of early childhood education at NVCC.  Dr. Burton is instrumental in preparing child care providers to work in the field of early childhood education.  Dr. Burton enjoys ballroom dancing and working with early childhood committees for the betterment of this field.

Ms. Deborah Donovan
Experienced licensed public teacher.  Ms. Donovan begins a wealth of knowledge, talent and interest in early childhood education to the classroom.  Ms. Donovan enjoys spending time with her family and teaching at NVCC in the early childhood programs.

Ms. Amy Josephson
Knowledgeable early childhood educator who enjoys rich hands-on learning experiences.  Ms. Josephson enjoys spending time with her family and planning early childhood activities.

Ms. Kristal Menchaca
Highly experienced educator at both the community college and university levels.  Ms. Menchaca is particularly knowledgeable in the areas of infant and child development, behavior guidance, and health/safety of young children.  Ms. Menchaca enjoys spending time with her family and child advocacy.

Ms. Deborah Stepien
Knowledgeable early childhood professional with 28+ years of experience working with young children and families in a variety of settings.  Ms. Stepien is a highly skilled child development and Child Find specialist, assessor, child advocate and licensed teacher.  Ms. Stepien enjoys volunteer work and travel.

Top