Full Time Faculty



Lisa Eckstein, Assistant Professor of Music
Director of Band and Chamber Ensembles
M.M. in Music Education, Temple University, 2005
B.M. in Music Education, Indiana University, 1997
leckstein@nvcc.edu

John Kocur, Assistant Professor of Music
Director of Jazz Studies and Music Appreciation Programs
M.M. in Jazz Studies, Howard University, 2008
B.M. in Music Education, George Mason University, 2006
jkocur@nvcc.edu

Jonathan Kolm, Assistant Professor of Music
Director of Piano and Composition Programs
D.M.A in Composition, The University of Texas at Austin, 2007
M.M. in Composition, Virginia Commonwealth University, 2000
B.M. in Piano Performance, Virginia Commonwealth University, 1999
jkolm@nvcc.edu

Mark Whitmire, Professor of Music
Director of Choral, Vocal and Guitar Programs
D.M.A. in Voice Performance, The University of Maryland
M.M. in Voice Performance, The University of Texas at San Antonio
B.M.Ed. in Choral Conducting and Voice, Abilene Christian University
mwhitmire@nvcc.edu

Adjunct Faculty


 
All 100 level, sections 001A applied music lessons are 1 credit, half hour per week lessons.
All 200 level
, sections 002A applied music lessons are 2 credit, one hour per week lessons.

Susan Brockman, Flute  MUS 155 section 001A and MUS 255 section 002A
M.M. in Flute Performance, University of North Texas
B.M. in Flute Performance, University of Wisconsin at Oshkosh
slbrockman1@verizon.net

Cara Cammaroto, Voice MUS 136 section 001A and MUS 236 section 002A
M.M. Voice Performance, The Catholic University of America
B.M. Voice Performance, The Catholic University of America
cara@caracammaroto.com

Patrick Cook, Voice MUS 136 section 001A and MUS 236 section 002A
M.M. in Voice Performance, Bard Conservatory
B.M. in Voice Performance, The Julliard School
pmctenor@aol.com

Michael Creadon, Audio Recording, Trumpet, Trombone, Tuba MUS 175 sections 001A and MUS 275 section 002A
mcreadon@nvcc.edu

Eugene D'Andrea Jazz Piano    
MUS 145 section 001A and MUS 245 section 002A
edandrea@nvcc.edu

Melissa Dvorak Strings   
MUS 145 section 001A and MUS 245 section 002A
mdvorak@nvcc.edu


Paul Durning, Percussion     MUS 185 section 001A and MUS 285 section 002A
paul.durning@gmail.com

Chris Galvan, Guitar    MUS 165 sections 001A, 002A; MUS 265 sections 001A, 002A
B.M. in Jazz Performance and Composition, Berklee School of Music
cromgalvan@yahoo.com

Aurelius Gori, Voice   
MUS 136 section 001A and MUS 236 section 002A
aurelius.gori1@verizon.net

Christine Hagan, Piano    MUS 145 section 001A and MUS 245 section 002A
M.M. Piano Performance, The University of Maryland
B.M. Piano Performance,
The University of Maryland
christine.hagan@comcast.net

Ken Hall, Guitar    MUS 165 section 001A and MUS 265 section 002A
M.M. in Jazz Composition and Arranging, University of Massachusetts at Amherst
B.A. Music Education,
Westfield State College
khall35@comcast.net

Brian Jones, Clarinet    
MUS 155 sections 003A, 004A; MUS 255 sections 003A, 004A                  
D.M.A. in Clarinet Performance, The Catholic University of America
M.M. in Clarinet Performance, Baylor University
B.M.E. Clarinet Performance

brian.david.jones@us.army.mil

Rami Kanaan, Violin    MUS 165 section 001A and MUS 265 sections 002A
M.A. in Violin Performance, George Mason University
ramikanaan@yahoo.com

Ja-Hye Koo, Piano    MUS 145 section 001A and MUS 245 section 002A
D.M.A. (ABD) Piano Performance, University of Maryland
M.M. Piano Performance, Indiana University
B.M. Piano Performance, Oberlin Conservatory of Music
jkoo@nvcc.edu

Jolie Lin, Theory    MUS 121 section E55A, E80A
jolielin@gmail.com

Deborah Lloyd Piano 
MUS 145 section 001A and MUS 245 section 002A
dlloyd@nvcc.edu
 

Jason Lovelace, Theory and Composition MUS 145 section 001A and MUS 245 section 002A             
D.M.A. in Composition, The Catholic University of America
M.M. in Composition, The Peabody Conservatory of The Johns Hopkins University
M.M. in Computer Music Composition, The Peabody Conservatory of The Johns Hopkins University
B.M.A. in Piano and Composition, The University of Oklahoma

jlovelace@nvcc.edu

Susan Neff, Oboe    MUS 155 section 001A and MUS 255 section 002A
spneff@nvcc.edu
B.A. in Oboe Performance, University of Arizona
M.A. in Oboe Performance, The Johns Hopkins University Peabody Conservatory

Kevin Pace, Bass and Music Appreciation   
MUS 165 section 001A and MUS 265 section 002A
kpace@nvcc.edu

Kathleen Smith, Theory                    
Ph.D. in Music Theory, Florida State University
M.M. in Music Theory, Florida State University
B.A. in Physics and Music, Wake Forest University

kbsmith@nvcc.edu