Citations / Fines / Appeals
NOVA is empowered to enforce its parking regulations by issuing legally enforceable citations to those who fail to comply with rules and regulations that control parking on any of its campuses. Enforcement of regulations is in effect 24 hours a day, seven days a week. If NOVA needs to utilize the services of a collection agency for debts owed, the debtor is responsible for paying all fines, late fees and collection costs. Unidentified vehicles left on lots more than 72 hours will be towed at the owner's expense. Call a Parking Services office for more information.
The registered owner of a vehicle with citations is responsible for any parking violations regardless of who is driving. Students will not be permitted to re-enroll or use any NOVA services until the fines are paid.
Faculty, staff and students may not obtain new or replacement permits without having paid for all parking citations on their records. Fines must be paid within 30 calendar days from the date of issue or an additional $10 late fee will be added to the original fine. Past due fines may also have a collection fee added.
Parking citations may be paid or appealed online. There is a $10 processing charge for all denied appeals. There are no first-time warnings given for meter violations.
Appeals may also be submitted to the campus Parking Services office where the citation was issued. Appeal forms are available at www.nvcc.edu/forms. Click on "forms" and select 105-072.
Submittal of an appeal is no guarantee the Traffic Committee will consider the request to be heard.
Appeal forms must be filed within 15 calendar days after issuance of the citation. The Traffic Appeals Committee will consider only those appeals that challenge the facts as stated on the citation. The Traffic Appeals Committee decision is final.
Virginia state summonses issued for violations on NOVA property cannot be appealed through a Parking Services office or on the website. Summonses must be appealed by following the instructions on the summons.
A vehicle with Virginia license plates and three or more unpaid citations may be booted or otherwise immobilized. The boot will not be removed until all outstanding parking fines, any collection fees, parking services and a $25 boot fee are paid. Out-of-state licensed vehicles may be immobilized and/or towed with one unpaid citation. It is illegal to tamper with or remove a boot. Vehicles unclaimed or remaining booted after 72 hours will be towed at the owner's expense.
Effective July 1, 2010
|Exceeding posted time||$45|
|Improper parking (over the lines, not within designated space)
|Failure to pay on existing garage||$5|
|Meter violation (expired time)
|No Loading Zone permit||$75|
|No valid permit displayed||$75|
|Parking in a roadway, fire lane or at yellow curb
|Parking in a reserved space without authorization displayed
|Parking in handicapped space without proper authorization||$150|
|Parking within 15 feet of a fire hydrant||$150|
|Permit improperly displayed (not on left windshield or bumper)
|Tampering with or removal of immobilizer/boot||$150|
|Unauthorized transfer of permit (sharing)
|Unauthorized use of NOVACard at parking garage (sharing)
|Stolen or counterfeit permits||$300|
The Northern Virginia Community College Board approves all parking fines and fees.
A late fee will be imposed on unpaid citations after 30 days from the date the citation(s) was/were issued. Parking fees and fine structures listed in this booklet are subject to change without notice. Overdue citations are also subject to collections fees. Persons found tampering with property, vehicles, or NOVA-issued parking citations on campus will be subject to the full penalty of Virginia State law.
Sharing of permits or NOVACards is strictly prohibited. Permits are valid only for the vehicle (make, model, color) and license plate number that is listed on the registration form at the time of purchase and may not be transferred to other vehicles.
Regulations are enforced 24 hours a day, seven days a week.