Breadcrumb Navigation:

Home > Campuses & Centers > Medical > Campus Resources > Clubs & Organizations

Clubs & Organizations - Medical

Every student at the Medical Education Campus has the potential and the opportunity to become a student leader. There are many benefits to becoming involved in student leadership. In addition to learning more about yourself, your strengths and interests, you gain valuable skills.

The friendships you develop, working together as a team on projects and goals, often remain strong long after graduation. The satisfaction of working as a team toward a common goal and knowing that you have made a positive contribution to your community is huge.

Clubs, Organizations and Interest Groups

Dental Hygiene Club (DNH)
Advisor: Dawn Southerly, dpsoutherly@nvcc.edu

Diagnostic Imaging Club (RAD)
Advisor: Jarice Risper, jrisper@nvcc.edu

Emergency Medical Services Club (EMS)
Advisor: Kathleen Deal, kdeal@nvcc.edu

Health Information Management Leaders of Tomorrow (HIMLOT)
Advisor: Toni Jackman, tjackman@nvcc.edu

Medical Laboratory Technology (MeLT) Club
Advisor: Stefanie Thompson, mthompson@nvcc.edu

Nurses Student Association (NSA)
Advisor: Kenya Fluellen kfluellen@nvcc.edu

Phi Theta Kappa, Beta Nu Psi Chapter (PTK)
Advisor: Maria Nieto-Shahsavarian, mnietoshahs@nvcc.edu
Co-advisor: Patricia Martin-Mattocks, pmartinmattocks@nvcc.edu

Physical Therapist Assistant Society (PTA)
Advisor: Patty Ottavio. pottavio@nvcc.edu

Respiratory Care Practitioners Student Association (RTH)
Advisor: Terry Clark, tclark@nvcc.edu

Student Occupational Therapy Association (OTA)
Advisor: Megan Cook, megancook@nvcc.edu

What Is the Difference Between a Club or Organization and an Interest Group?

There is a distinct difference between clubs and interest groups. The College officially recognizes clubs; Interest Groups are groups formed on a temporary basis and are not officially recognized by the College. Further clarification can be found below for the differences between clubs versus interest groups:

Clubs/Organizations

  • Clubs can generate funds through fundraisers and donations.
  • Clubs can have a club account through the Office of Student Activities.
  • Clubs can use the College name to show its affiliation with the College.
  • Clubs can request funding from the Office of Student Activities and the College for programs and club activities.
  • Clubs can reserve College facilities and utilize College resources for a variety of programming opportunities.
  • Clubs are featured in various publications of the College (Student Handbook, Website, Newspaper, etc.

Interest Groups

  • Interest Groups cannot generate funds through fundraisers and donations.
  • Interest Groups cannot have a club account through the Office of Student Activities.
  • Interest Groups cannot use the College Name to show its affiliation with the College.
  • Interest Groups cannot request funding from the Office of Student Activities and the College for programs and clubs activities.
  • Interest Groups can reserve College facilities for meetings only! Interest Groups are not featured in publications of the College.