Site Search:

A browser that supports JavaScript is required to submit the NOVA site search form and to display search results.

Audience Navigation:

Topic Navigation:

Breadcrumb Navigation:

Home > Campuses & Centers > Alexandria > Academic Divisions > Liberal Arts Division

Liberal Arts Division

Dean 

Dr. Jimmie McClellan
Dean for Liberal Arts

jmcclellan@nvcc.edu

Welcome to the Liberal Arts Division, the largest academic division at NOVA. The liberal arts are the disciplines or branches of knowledge concerned with man and his culture, and thus help us to explore and understand what it means to be human. Such an understanding is important in an age that increasingly emphasizes technology and demands a faster pace.

Liberal Arts TV

The Division offers a broad range of disciplines and courses taught in a variety of traditional and technological formats by teachers who are among the very best. We offer a complete array of English courses, from entry-level ESL to specialized literature courses; 12 different foreign languages (including Arabic, Hindi, Vietnamese, Russian, Chinese, Japanese, Ancient Greek and Latin), supported by a multimedia Language Center (Room AA160); and a wide variety of history, social science, philosophy, religion, communications, music, fine arts and photography courses.

Our peer-tutoring program (for ESL and Developmental English) and our Writing Assistance Center (in Room AA340) offer support with your written coursework.

Our Honors Program gives qualified students the opportunity to explore subject matter in greater depth in seminar atmospheres.

Finally, a relatively new program feature within this division is International Area Studies (in Latin American, Chinese, Japanese, and African-American Studies), which enables you to concentrate your studies in one of four areas combining the studies of history, literature, language, even economics and psychology.

Division Photos


Location:
Room AA 252
3001 North Beauregard Street
Alexandria, VA 22311
Phone: 703.845.6241 or x6242

Division Dean
Dr. Jimmie McClellan

Assistant Dean of Liberal Arts
Jean Braden

Administrative Staff

Samuel Rosado Rodriguez
Office Manager
srosadorodr@nvcc.edu

703.933.3974

Olga Merkezas
Administrative Assistant
omerkezas@nvcc.edu
703.845.6242

Azza Ahmed
Administrative Assistant
azahmed@nvcc.edu
703.845.6241
Sean Nance
Administrative Assistant to the Dean
snance@nvcc.edu
703.845.6233

Jose Zalles II
Administrative Assistant
jzalles@nvcc.edu
703.845.6241

Abdulhakim Ali
Administrative Assistant
aali@nvcc.edu
703.845.6241

Assistant Deans

Dr. Ivy Beringer
Childhood Development, Human Services and Education
iberinger@nvcc.edu

Elizabeth (Lisa) Hill
Communication Design
ehill@nvcc.edu

Brenda Lewis-Holmes
Communications Studies and Theatre
blewisholmes@nvcc.edu

Dr. Jonathan Kolm
Music
jkolm@nvcc.edu

Dr. Elizabeth Lanthier
Economics, Geography, Psychology and Sociology
elanthier@nvcc.edu

Bill Schran
Fine Arts
wschran@nvcc.edu
Takako Shigehisa
World Languages (including Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Ancient Greek, Hindi, Japanese, Italian, Latin, Russian, Spanish and Vietnamese)
tshigehisa@nvcc.edu

Joseph Small
Photography
jsmall@nvcc.edu

Jarrod Waetjen / Shonette Grant
Developmental English, English, Humanities, Linguistics, Philosophy and Religion
jwaetjen@nvcc.edu sgrant@nvcc.edu

Dr. Joseph Windham
History, Political Science and Social Sciences
jewindham@nvcc.edu

Tauheeda Yasin
English as a Second Language
tyasin@nvcc.edu

Courses of Study/Programs:

Women's Center
Division Photos and Videos