Welcome to the Northern Virginia Community College Website

Accessibility Navigation:

Holiday & Religious Calendar

Holiday Schedule for 2016

Friday, January 1 - New Year’s Day/Winter Break
Monday, January 18 - Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Monday, May 30 - Memorial Day
Monday, July 4 - Independence Day
Monday, September 5 - Labor Day
Wednesday, November 23 - College closes at noon (½ day for Thanksgiving Holiday)
Thursday, November 24 - Thanksgiving Holiday
Friday, November 25 - Thanksgiving Holiday
Friday, December 23, 2016 through Friday December 30, 2016 - Winter Break

*NOTE: January 2, 2017 is a 2017 holiday.

Religious Calendar

The religious holidays listed below HAVE BEEN designated as non-workdays by the religions that observe them. Bold titles are primarily holy days of a tradition. Those marked with * begin at sundown before the given date.

2015-2016

September 13-15, 2015

Rosh Hashanah (Jewish)*

September 22-23, 2015

Yom Kippur (Jewish)*

March 20-21, 2016

Nowruz (Persian New Year)*

April 22-30, 2016

Passover (Jewish)*

The religious holidays listed below have NOT been designated as non-workdays by the religions that observe them. However, those designated in bold are major holidays or fast days of the tradition.

2015-2016

June 18, 2015

Ramadan begins (Muslim)*

July 16, 2015

Ramadan ends (Muslim)*

July 18, 2015

Eid al-Fitr (Muslim)*

October 22, 2015

Dussehra (Hindu)

September 23-24, 2015

Eid al-Adha (Muslim)

November 11, 2015

Diwali (Hindu)

November 25, 2015

Guru Nanak Birthday (Sikh)

December 25, 2015

Christmas (Christian)

January 7, 2016

Orthodox Christmas

February 8, 2016

Chinese New Year (Confucian, Daoist, Buddhist)

March 30, 2016

Magha Puja Day (Buddhist)

March 25, 2016

Good Friday (Christian/Orthodox Christian)

March 27, 2016

Easter Sunday (Christian/Orthodox Christian)

April 14, 2016 Baisakhi (Sikh)
May 14, 2016 Buddha Day (Buddhist)
Top