Welcome to the Northern Virginia Community College Website

Accessibility Navigation:

Liberal Arts Division

The Liberal Arts Division enhances and supports the mission of NOVA and the VCCS by providing high-quality comprehensive associate degree and certificate programs.

The Liberal Arts division provides discipline support for every other program on campus in areas such as social science, music, art, speech communication, physical education and recreation and parks. Our students benefit from our excellence in instruction and advisement, which assists them in achieving their academic, professional and personal goals.

We have 47 full-time faculty members, approximately 100 adjuncts and five staff members. Our faculty use a multitude of instructional methods which include PowerPoint presentations, field trips, online instruction and courses offered through the Extended Learning Institute (ELI).


Programs/Disciplines
Faculty & Staff

Administration

NamePhoneEmail
Burton Peretti
Dean
703.323.3107 bperetti@nvcc.edu
Hemchand Gossai
Associate Dean
703.323.3042 hgossai@nvcc.edu
Linda Delp-Miller
Administrative Coordinator
703.323.3189 ldelpmiller@nvcc.edu

Art & Art History

NamePhoneEmailOffice
Virginia Pates
Assistant Dean
703.323.3496 vpates@nvcc.edu CM 118
Nancy Minogue
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3114 nlminogue@nvcc.edu
John Aakesson 703.323.3114 jaakesson@nvcc.edu
Mark Bartholome 703.323.3107 mbartholome@nvcc.edu
Bradley Birkhimer 703.323.3114 bbirkhimer@nvcc.edu 
Adam Bradley 703.323.3114 abradley@nvcc.edu
Ivan Castaneda 703.764.7396 icastaneda@nvcc.edu
Susan Cumbey 703.323.3114 scumbey@nvcc.edu
Michael Dowley 703.323.3114 mdowley@nvcc.edu
Robert French 703.323.3114 rfrench@nvcc.edu
Geethanjana Kudaligamage 703.323.3114 gkudaligamage@nvcc.edu
Josef Lustig 703.323.3114 jlustig@nvcc.edu 
Todd Messegee 703.323.3114 tmessegee@nvcc.edu
Giulio Porta 703.323.2135 gporta@nvcc.edu CM 366
Edward Purcell 703.323.3114 epurcell@nvcc.edu
Karima Radwan 703.323.3114 kradwan@nvcc.edu
Jennifer Ramirez 703.323.3114 jramirez@nvcc.edu 
Julie Schauer 703.323.3114 jschauer@nvcc.edu
Ann Schlesinger 703.323.3114 aschlesinger@nvcc.edu
Seo jeong Shin 703.323.3114 sshin@nvcc.edu
Cara Smulevitz 703.323.3114 csmulevitz@nvcc.edu
Kimberly Southern 703.323.3114 ksouthern@nvcc.edu
Dafna Steinberg 703.323.3114 dsteinberg@nvcc.edu 
Stephanie Thornton-Grant 703.323.6312 sthorntongrant@nvcc.edu CM 350
Dragana Vasiljevic 703.323.3114 dvasiljevic@nvcc.edu 

Communication Studies & Theatre

NamePhoneEmailOffice
Jennifer Rainey
Assistant Dean
703.764.5034 jrainey@nvcc.edu CM 356
Jeff Sager
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3107 jssager@nvcc.edu
Troy Bogino 703.323.3107 tbogino@nvcc.edu
Susan Cappellari 703.323.3107 scappellari@nvcc.edu
Melissa Chabot 703.323.7782 mchabot@nvcc.edu CM 332
Sarah Crist 703.323.3107 scrist@nvcc.edu
Ken Darensbourg 703.425.5638 kdarensbourg@nvcc.edu CM 116
Terrence Doyle 703.323.3107 tdoyle@nvcc.edu
Dennis Dulmage 703.323.3107 ddulmage@nvcc.edu
Michelle Happer 703.323.3107 mhapper@nvcc.edu
Jenny Hodges 703.323.3107 jhodges@nvcc.edu
Alusine Kanu 703.323.4143 akanu@nvcc.edu CM 364
Peter Kent 703.323.3107 pkent@nvcc.edu
Michelle Klink 703.323.3107 mklink@nvcc.edu
Marit Knollmueller 703.323.3107 mknollmueller@nvcc.edu
Amber Koeckritz 703.764.7395 akoeckritz@nvcc.edu  CM 234
Daniel Lanham 703.323.3107 dlanham@nvcc.edu 
Alison Legall 703.323.3107 alegall@nvcc.edu
Laura Miller 703.323.3107 lamiller@nvcc.edu
Thomas Morra 703.323.3136 tmorra@nvcc.edu
Suzanne Neff 703.323.4249 sneff@nvcc.edu CM 362
Brenda Parker 703.323.3107 bparker@nvcc.edu
Nan Peck 703.323.4140 npeck@nvcc.edu CM 306
Jenai Rasmussen 703.323.3107 jrasmussen@nvcc.edu
Emily Salazar 703.323.3107 esalazar@nvcc.edu
Lance Schmeidler 703.323.3107 lschmeidler@nvcc.edu
Sabeen Sheikh 703.323.3107 ssheikh@nvcc.edu 
Wendi Slagle 703.323.3107 wslagle@nvcc.edu
Raymond Taylor 703.323.3107 rdtaylor@nvcc.edu
Michelle Taylor 703.323.3107 mtaylor@nvcc.edu 
Megan Tucker 703.323.3107 mtucker@nvcc.edu
Sara Weinstock 703.323.3107 sweinstock@nvcc.edu 

Economics

NamePhoneEmailOffice
John Ehle
Assistant Dean
703.323.3082 jehle@nvcc.edu  CN 202D
Susan McGinnis
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3246 smcginnis@nvcc.edu 
John Ahmad 703.323.3858 jahmad@nvcc.edu
Woodrow Bellamy 703.323.3246 wbellamy@nvcc.edu
Dennis Bradshaw 703.323.3246 dbradshaw@nvcc.edu
Jehanzeb Cheema 703.323.3246 jcheema@nvcc.edu 
Ronald Earley 703.323.3246 rearley@nvcc.edu
Michael Heslop 703.323.3254 mgheslop@nvcc.edu CN 214I
Manthrigae Jayatilake 703.323.2154 mjayatilake@nvcc.edu  CN 214A
Hong Kim 703.323.3246 hkim@nvcc.edu
Jongdoo Lee 703.323.3246 jonglee@nvcc.edu
Julie Love 703.323.3246 jlove@nvcc.edu
Clinton McCully 703.323.3246 cmccully@nvcc.edu
Tuba Ozer-Gurbuz 703.323.3246 tozergurbuz@nvcc.edu 
Kiet Quach 703.323.3468 kquach@nvcc.edu CM 230
Casey Ross 703.323.3246 cross@nvcc.edu
Jose Rodriguez Solis 703.323.3237 jrodriguezso@nvcc.edu CN 214G
Rashida Rowther 703.323.3239 rrowther@nvcc.edu CN 214I
Sukhdev Shah 703.323.3246 sshah@nvcc.edu
Sushma Shukla 703.323.3246 sushukla@nvcc.edu
Ian Taylor 703.323.3246 itaylor@nvcc.edu
Nilka Varela 703.323.3246 nvarela@nvcc.edu

Education

NamePhoneEmailOffice
Jeff Sager
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3107 jssager@nvcc.edu
Phyllis Cooke 703.323.3107 pcooke@nvcc.edu 
Karen Sheble 703.257.6618 ksheble@nvcc.edu MH 411

Geography

NamePhoneEmail
John Ehle
Assistant Dean
703.323.3082 jehle@nvcc.edu
Susan McGinnis
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3246 smcginnis@nvcc.edu
David Miller 703.323.3246 damiller@nvcc.edu 

Health

NamePhoneEmailOffice
Susan Thompson
Assistant Dean
703.323.3235 spthompson@nvcc.edu
Nancy Minogue
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3114 nlminogue@nvcc.edu
Nancy Jacobson 703.323.3114 njacobson@nvcc.edu 
Andrea Maunz 703.323.3114 amaunz@nvcc.edu 
Christopher McNeill 703.323.3114 cmcneill@nvcc.edu
John O'Toole 703.323.3114 jotoole@nvcc.edu 
Beverly Pittman 703.323.3231 bdpittman@nvcc.edu CM 310

History

NamePhoneEmailOffice
Rashmi Chilka
Assistant Dean
703.323.3897 rchilka@nvcc.edu CN 202B
Susan McGinnis
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3246 smcginnis@nvcc.edu
Charles Bauland 703.323.3260/46 cbauland@nvcc.edu 
Peter Beeman 703.323.3260/46 pbeeman@nvcc.edu
Zayna Bizri 703.323.3260/46 zbizri@nvcc.edu 
David Bobbitt 703.323.3260/46 dbobbitt@nvcc.edu
Nicholas Bomba 703.323.3372 nbomba@nvcc.edu CN 214E
Frank Cerutti 703.323.3260/46 fcerutti@nvcc.edu
Noah Cincinnati 703.323.3238 ncincinnati@nvcc.edu  CN 202E
Thomas Cogliano 703.323.3260/46 tcogliano@nvcc.edu CM 374
Jessica Dvorshak 703.323.3260/46 jdvorshak@nvcc.edu 
Thaddeus Fleming 703.323.3260/46 tfleming@nvcc.edu
Nathaniel Green 703.323.3244 ncgreen@nvcc.edu  CN 214H
Roger Hill 703.323.3246 rhill@nvcc.edu
Timothy Hudenburg 703.323.3260/46 thudenburg@nvcc.edu 
Gregory LaMotta 703.323.3260/46 glamatta@nvcc.edu
Dennis Lienau 703.323.3260/46 dlienau@nvcc.edu
Susan Llewellyn 703.323.3260/46 sllewellyn@nvcc.edu
Allison Millward 703.323.3260/46 armillward@nvcc.edu 
Margaret Reed 703.323.3260/46 mreed@nvcc.edu
Lloyd Reitnauer 703.323.3260/46 lreitnauer@nvcc.edu
Thomas Rushford 703.323.3304 trushford@nvcc.edu  CN 202E
Evelyn Russell 703.323.3260/46 edrussell@nvcc.edu 
John Saddler 703.323.3260/46 jsaddler@nvcc.edu
Ruma Salhi 703.764.5050 rsalhi@nvcc.edu CM 304
John Schmitz 703.323.3821 jschmitz@nvcc.edu CN 202A
Donald Smith 703.845.6242 dsmith@nvcc.edu
Albert Thompson Jr. 703.323.3260/46 athompson@nvcc.edu 
Patricia Tillman 703.323.3260/46
Tracey Vandernaald 703.323.3260/46 tvandernaald@nvcc.edu 
Jennifer Winters 703.323.5932 jwinters@nvcc.edu CN 214H

Humanities

NamePhoneEmailOffice
John Ehle
Assistant Dean
703.323.3082 jehle@nvcc.edu CN 202D
Susan McGinnis
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3246 smcginnis@nvcc.edu
Lisa Kenna 703.323.3246 lkenna@nvcc.edu
Stephen Santelli 703.323.3246 ssantelli@nvcc.edu 
Laurie Wessely-Baldwin 703.323.3246

Music

NamePhoneEmailOffice
Virginia Pates
Assistant Dean
703.323.3496 vpates@nvcc.edu
Nancy Minogue
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3114 nlminogue@nvcc.edu
Laurel Brown 703.323.3114 labrown@nvcc.edu
Glenn, Dewey 703.323.3114 gdewey@nvcc.edu 
James Fay 703.323.3177 jfay@nvcc.edu CM 228
Julie Hahn 703.323.3114 jhahn@nvcc.edu 
Rosemarie Houghton 703.323.3114 rhoughton@nvcc.edu 
Christopher Johnston 703.323.3114
Edward Kapusciarz 703.323.3114 ekapusciarz@nvcc.edu 
Suhn-hee Kim 703.323.3114 skim@nvcc.edu 
Larry LeMaster 703.323.3114 llemaster@nvcc.edu 
Margaret McNulty 703.323.3114 mmcnulty@nvcc.edu 
Albert Merz 703.323.3114 amerz@nvcc.edu 
Dimitar Naumoff 703.323.3114 dnaumoff@nvcc.edu
Su Zan Park 703.323.3114 spark@nvcc.edu 
Taimoor Saeedi 703.323.3114 tsaeedi@nvcc.edu
Herb Smith 703.323.3094 hesmith@nvcc.edu CM 224
Robert Webb 703.323.3439 rwebb@nvcc.edu CM 226
Dagmar White 703.323.3114 dwhite@nvcc.edu 
John Wright 703.323.3114 jcwright@nvcc.edu 

Philosophy

NamePhoneEmailOffice
John Ehle
Assistant Dean
703.323.3082 jehle@nvcc.edu CN 202D
Susan McGinnis
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3246 smcginnis@nvcc.edu
Abdelkader Aoudjit 703.323.3246 aaoudjit@nvcc.edu
Timothy Clewell 703.323.3246 tclewell@nvcc.edu 
Laura Fox 703.323.3246 lfox@nvcc.edu 
Donald Gregory 703.323.3271 dgregory@nvcc.edu
Mary Gregory 703.323.3271 mgregory@nvcc.edu
John Horigan 703.323.3246 jhorigan@nvcc.edu
Christopher Kinney 703.323.3246 skinney@nvcc.edu 
Michael Larson 703.323.3246 mlarson@nvcc.edu 
John McGuinness 703.323.3246 jmcguinness@nvcc.edu
Rafayel Seyranyan 703.323.3246 rseyranyan@nvcc.edu
Steven Stakland 703.323.3246 sstakland@nvcc.edu  CM 374

Physical Education

NamePhoneEmailOffice
Susan Thompson
Assistant Dean
703.323.3235 spthompson@nvcc.edu CM 342B
Nancy Minogue
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3114 nlminogue@nvcc.edu
Gamal Aboshadi 703.323.3703 gaaboshadi@nvcc.edu CM 342B
Meredith Barnes 703.323.3114 mbarnes@nvcc.edu 
Tesha Crockett 703.323.3114 tcrockett@nvcc.edu
Clare Davidson 703.323.3114 cdavidson@nvcc.edu 
Beth Elliott 703.323.3114 belliott@nvcc.edu 
Elaine Foggan-Rupp 703.323.3114 efogganrupp@nvcc.edu
Gail Freedman 703.323.3114
Craig Goheen 703.323.3114 cgoheen@nvcc.edu
Alan Golombek 703.323.3114 agolombek@nvcc.edu 
Michael Hart 703.323.3114 mhart@nvcc.edu
James Holmes 703.323.3702 jholmes@nvcc.edu CM 234
Brian Howells, Jr. 703.323.3114 bhowells@nvcc.edu 
Juanita Kuntz 703.323.3114 jkuntz@nvcc.edu 
John Meeks 703.323.3114 jmeeks@nvcc.edu
Roxann Morgan-Rowley 703.323.3114 rmorgan-rowley@nvcc.edu
Rabi Shatila 703.323.3114 rshatila@nvcc.edu 
Elizabeth Spatz 703.323.3114 espatz@nvcc.edu
Susan Thompson 703.323.3114
Laurae, Upchurch 703.323.3114 lupchurch@nvcc.edu 

Political Science

NamePhoneEmailOffice
Rashmi Chilka
Assistant Dean
703.323.3897 rchilka@nvcc.edu
Susan McGinnis
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3246 smcginnis@nvcc.edu
Arus Harutyunyan 703.323.3260/46 aharutyunyan@nvcc.edu
Gabriel Hudson 703.323.3260/46 ghudson@nvcc.edu 
Brian Jones 703.323.33260/46 bdjones@nvcc.edu
Mark Royce 703.323.3260/46 mroyce@nvcc.edu 
Jennifer Sayasithsena 703.323.3216 jsayasithsena@nvcc.edu CN 214D

Psychology

NamePhoneEmailOffice
Pamela Stewart
Assistant Dean
703.323.3403 pstewart@nvcc.edu CN 214C
Susan McGinnis
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3246 smcginnis@nvcc.edu
Robert Morrison Carroll 703.425.5140 rocarroll@nvcc.edu CM 116
Eileen, Curtayne 703.323.3260/46 ecurtayne@nvcc.edu 
Deanna DeGidio 703.323.3262 ddegidio@nvcc.edu CN 202F
Richard Green 703.323.3260/46 rgreen@nvcc.edu
Marsha Harris 703.425.5932 maharris@nvcc.edu
Karen Livesey 703.323.3260/46 klivesey@nvcc.edu  CN 214B
Kathy Lloyd 703.323.3352 klloyd@nvcc.edu  CN 202C
Jason McBeth 703.323.3260/46 jmcbeth@nvcc.edu
Hugh McIntosh 703.323.3260/46 hmcintosh@nvcc.edu
Glenora Nelson 703.323.3260/46 gnelson@nvcc.edu 
Joan Passino 703.323.3271 jpassino@nvcc.edu CN 214B
Vinson Reynolds 703.323.3260/46 vbreynolds@nvcc.edu
Sara Sharifi 703.323.3260/46 ssharifi@nvcc.edu
Eric Shiraev 703.323.2155 eshiraev@nvcc.edu 
Dani Szczpanowicz 703.323.3260/46 dszczepanowicz@nvcc.edu 
Diane Tuininga 703.323.3260/46 dtuininga@nvcc.edu 

Recreation, Parks & Leisure Studies

NamePhoneEmailOffice
Larry Smith
Assistant Dean
703.323.3230 lmsmith@nvcc.edu CM 324
Jeff Sager
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3107 jssager@nvcc.edu
Nancy Chamberlain
703.323.3107 nchamberlain@nvcc.edu
Brian Laws 703.323.3107 blaws@nvcc.edu

Religion

NamePhoneEmailOffice
John Ehle
Assistant Dean
703.323.3082 jehle@nvcc.edu
Susan McGinnis
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3246 smcginnis@nvcc.edu
Matthew D. Moore 703.323.3246 mamoore@nvcc.edu
Ann Stegner 703.323.3261 awertman@nvcc.edu  CM 322

Sociology

NamePhoneEmailOffice
John Ehle
Assistant Dean
703.323.3082 jehle@nvcc.edu CN 202D
Susan McGinnis
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3246 smcginnis@nvcc.edu
Chanda Cook 703.323.3246 crcook@nvcc.edu
Samuel Dunlap 703.323.3246 sdunlap@nvcc.edu 
Karen Guillory 703.323.3246 kguillory@nvcc.edu
Dean Haledjian 703.323.3243 dhaledjian@nvcc.edu CN 214F
Ann Johnson 703.323.3246 amjohnson@nvcc.edu 
Carol Mason 703.323.3246 cmason@nvcc.edu 
Onika Samuda-Coke 703.323.3246 osamuda@nvcc.edu
Erica Smith 703.323.3570 ersmith@nvcc.edu CN 202A
William Stewart 703.323.3246 wstewart@nvcc.edu
Faculty Advisors
Contact (will assign advisor)DisciplinePhoneRoom
Nancy Minogue Art/Humanities 703.323.3114 CM 342
Susan McGinnis Economics/Geography 703.323.3246 CN 202
Susan McGinnis History/Political Science 703.323.3246 CN 202
Susan McGinnis International Relations 703.323.3246 CN 202
Nancy Minogue Music 703.323.3114 CM 342
Nancy Minogue Phys Ed/Fitness Certificate 703.323.3114 CM 342
Susan McGinnis Philosophy/Religion 703.323.3246 CN 202
Susan McGinnis Psychology 703.323.3246 CN 202
Jeffrey Sager Recreation & Parks 703.323.3107 CM 342
Susan McGinnis Sociology 703.323.3246 CN 202
Jeffrey Sager Communication Studies and Theater 703.323.3107 CM 342

 

Top