Welcome to the Northern Virginia Community College Website

Accessibility Navigation:

Liberal Arts Division

The Liberal Arts Division enhances and supports the mission of NOVA and the VCCS by providing high-quality comprehensive associate degree and certificate programs.

Summer Advising Week Flyer

Our division offers courses in general education, humanities and the social sciences to satisfy certificate and degree requirements at NOVA and for transfer to other institutions of higher education. 

The Liberal Arts division provides discipline support for every other program on campus in areas such as social science, music, art, speech communication, physical education and recreation and parks. Our students benefit from our excellence in instruction and advisement, which assists them in achieving their academic, professional and personal goals.

We have 40 full-time faculty members, approximately 150 adjuncts and five staff members. Our faculty use a multitude of instructional methods which include PowerPoint presentations, field trips, online instruction and courses offered through the Extended Learning Institute (ELI).


Programs/Disciplines
Faculty & Staff
Administration
NamePhoneEmail
Hemchand Gossai
Interim Dean
703.323.3042 hgossai@nvcc.edu
Linda Delp-Miller
Administrative Coordinator
703.323.3189 ldelpmiller@nvcc.edu
Art & Art History
NamePhoneEmailOffice
Jennifer Rainey
Assistant Dean
703.764.5034 jrainey@nvcc.edu  CM 356
Nancy Minogue
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3114 nlminogue@nvcc.edu
John Aakesson 703.323.3114 jaakesson@nvcc.edu
Bradley Birkhimer 703.323.3114 bbirkhimer@nvcc.edu 
Adam Bradley 703.323.3114 abradley@nvcc.edu
Ivan Castaneda 703.764.7396 icastaneda@nvcc.edu
Susan Cumbey 703.323.3114 scumbey@nvcc.edu
Robert Devers 703.323.3114 rdevers@nvcc.edu 
Michael Dowley 703.323.3114 mdowley@nvcc.edu CM 361
Cynthia Fischer 703.323.3114 cfischer@nvcc.edu 
Robert French 703.323.3114 rfrench@nvcc.edu
Jay Matthew Hendrick 703.323.3114 jhendrick@nvcc.edu 
Josef Lustig 703.323.3114 jlustig@nvcc.edu 
Virginia Pates 703.323.3496 vpates@nvcc.edu  CM 118
Edward Purcell 703.323.3114 epurcell@nvcc.edu
Jennifer Ramirez 703.323.3114 jramirez@nvcc.edu 
Samantha Sethi 703.323.3114 ssethi@nvcc.edu 
Seo jeong Shin 703.323.3114 sshin@nvcc.edu
Kimberly Southern 703.323.3114 ksouthern@nvcc.edu
Dafna Steinberg 703.323.3114 dsteinberg@nvcc.edu 
Stephanie Thornton-Grant 703.323.6312 sthorntongrant@nvcc.edu CM 350
Tammy Tran 703.323.3114 tltran@nvcc.edu 
Dragana Vasiljevic 703.323.3114 dvasiljevic@nvcc.edu 
Communication Studies & Theatre
NamePhoneEmailOffice
Jennifer Rainey
Assistant Dean
703.764.5034 jrainey@nvcc.edu CM 356
Jeff Sager
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3107 jssager@nvcc.edu
Theresa Anderson 703.323.3107 tanderson@nvcc.edu 
Troy Bogino 703.323.3107 tbogino@nvcc.edu
Aaron Bohn 703.764.2344 abohn@nvcc.edu  CM 364
Susan Cappellari 703.323.3107 scappellari@nvcc.edu
Melissa Chabot 703.323.7782 mchabot@nvcc.edu CM 332
Sarah Crist 703.323.3107 scrist@nvcc.edu
Ken Darensbourg 703.425.5638 kdarensbourg@nvcc.edu CM 116
Terrence Doyle 703.323.3107 tdoyle@nvcc.edu
Dennis Dulmage 703.323.3107 ddulmage@nvcc.edu
Amy Fisher 703.323.3107 alfisher@nvcc.edu 
Michelle Happer 703.323.3107 mhapper@nvcc.edu
Jenny Hodges 703.323.3107 jhodges@nvcc.edu
Savreen Hundal 703.323.3107 shundal@nvcc.edu 
Gulgun Karamete 703.323.3107 gkaramete@nvcc.edu 
Peter Kent 703.323.3107 pkent@nvcc.edu
Daniel Lanham 703.323.3107 dlanham@nvcc.edu 
Thomas Morra 703.323.3136 tmorra@nvcc.edu
Suzanne Neff 703.323.4249 sneff@nvcc.edu CM 362
Nan Peck 703.323.4140 npeck@nvcc.edu CM 306
Jenai Rasmussen 703.323.3107 jrasmussen@nvcc.edu
Emily Salazar 703.323.3107 esalazar@nvcc.edu
Lance Schmeidler 703.323.3107 lschmeidler@nvcc.edu
Wendi Slagle 703.323.3107 wslagle@nvcc.edu
Amy Futch Swisher 703.323.3107 aswisher@nvcc.edu 
Don Taylor 703.323.3107 rdtaylor@nvcc.edu 
Philip Tirpak 703.323.3479 ptirpak@nvcc.edu  CM 348
Megan Tucker 703.323.3107 mtucker@nvcc.edu
Rebecca Walter 703.323.3107 rwalter@nvcc.edu 
Sara Weinstock 703.323.3107 sweinstock@nvcc.edu 
Kristen Willett 703.323.3107 kwillett@nvcc.edu 
Economics
NamePhoneEmailOffice
Manthrigae Jayatilake
Assistant Dean
703.323.2154 mjayatilake@nvcc.edu  CN 202D
Susan McGinnis
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3246 smcginnis@nvcc.edu 
John Ahmad 703.323.3858 jahmad@nvcc.edu CC 122A
Malek Atef 703.323.3246 matef@nvcc.edu 
Dennis Bradshaw 703.323.3246 dbradshaw@nvcc.edu
Jehanzeb Cheema 703.323.3246 jcheema@nvcc.edu 
Ronald Earley 703.323.3246 rearley@nvcc.edu
Michael Heslop 703.323.3254 mgheslop@nvcc.edu CN 214I
Julie Love 703.323.3246 jlove@nvcc.edu
Clinton McCully 703.323.3246 cmccully@nvcc.edu
Tuba Ozer-Gurbuz 703.323.3246 tozergurbuz@nvcc.edu 
Kiet Quach 703.323.3468 kquach@nvcc.edu CM 230
Casey Ross 703.323.3246 cross@nvcc.edu
Jose Rodriguez Solis 703.323.3237 jrodriguezso@nvcc.edu CM 234
Rashida Rowther 703.323.3239 rrowther@nvcc.edu CN 214I
Sushma Shukla 703.323.3246 sushukla@nvcc.edu
Ian Taylor 703.323.3246 itaylor@nvcc.edu
Nilka Varela 703.323.3246 nvarela@nvcc.edu
Education
NamePhoneEmailOffice
Jeff Sager
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3107 jssager@nvcc.edu
Ashley Mason Wilkins 703.323.3107 amwilkins@nvcc.edu 
Geography
NamePhoneEmailOffice
Erica Smith
Assistant Dean
703.323.3570 ersmith@nvcc.edu  CN 202A
Susan McGinnis
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3246 smcginnis@nvcc.edu CN 202
David Miller 703.323.3246 damiller@nvcc.edu 
Health
NamePhoneEmailOffice
Susan Thompson
Assistant Dean
703.323.3235 spthompson@nvcc.edu
Nancy Minogue
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3114 nlminogue@nvcc.edu
Brian M. Howells Jr.  703.323.3114 bhowells@nvcc.edu 
Nancy Jacobson 703.323.3114 njacobson@nvcc.edu 
Andrea Maunz 703.323.3114 amaunz@nvcc.edu 
Christopher McNeill 703.323.3114 cmcneill@nvcc.edu
John O'Toole 703.323.3114 jotoole@nvcc.edu 
Beverly Pittman 703.323.3231 bdpittman@nvcc.edu CM 310
History
NamePhoneEmailOffice
Rashmi Chilka
Assistant Dean
703.323.3897 rchilka@nvcc.edu CN 202B
Susan McGinnis
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3246 smcginnis@nvcc.edu
Peter Beeman 703.323.3260/46 pbeeman@nvcc.edu
David Bobbitt 703.323.3260/46 dbobbitt@nvcc.edu
Nicholas Bomba 703.323.3372 nbomba@nvcc.edu CN 214E
Jefferson Byrd 703.323.3246 jbyrd@nvcc.edu 
Alan Capps 703.323.3246 acapps@nvcc.edu 
Frank Cerutti 703.323.3260/46 fcerutti@nvcc.edu
Noah Cincinnati 703.323.3238 ncincinnati@nvcc.edu  CN 202E
Thomas Cogliano 703.323.3260/46 tcogliano@nvcc.edu CM 374
Jessica Dvorshak 703.323.3260/46 jdvorshak@nvcc.edu 
Nathaniel Green 703.323.3244 ncgreen@nvcc.edu  CN 214H
Jeffrey Hampson 703.323.3246 jhampson@nvcc.edu 
Richard Harless 703.323.3246 rharless@nvcc.edu 
Roger Hill 703.323.3246 rhill@nvcc.edu
Timothy Hudenburg 703.323.3260/46 thudenburg@nvcc.edu 
Joseph Michael Kozier 703.323.3246 jkozier@nvcc.edu 
Dennis Lienau 703.323.3260/46 dlienau@nvcc.edu
Susan Llewellyn 703.323.3260/46 sllewellyn@nvcc.edu
Nathan Howell Moore 703.323.3246 nhmoore@nvcc.edu 
Margaret Reed 703.323.3260/46 mreed@nvcc.edu
Lloyd Reitnauer 703.323.3260/46 lreitnauer@nvcc.edu
Michelle Mary Rief 703.323.3246 mrief@nvcc.edu 
Eric Rozenman 703.323.3246 erozenman@nvcc.edu 
Thomas Rushford 703.323.3304 trushford@nvcc.edu  CN 202E
Ruma Salhi 703.764.5050 rsalhi@nvcc.edu CM 304
Stephen Matthew Santelli 703.323.3246 ssantelli@nvcc.edu 
John Schmitz 703.323.3821 jschmitz@nvcc.edu CN 214G
Albert Thompson Jr. 703.323.3260/46 athompson@nvcc.edu 
Patricia Tillman 703.323.3260/46
Tracey Vandernaald 703.323.3260/46 tvandernaald@nvcc.edu 
Jennifer Winters 703.323.5932 jwinters@nvcc.edu CN 214H
Humanities
NamePhoneEmailOffice
Erica Smith
Assistant Dean
703.323.3082 ersmith@nvcc.edu  CN 202A
Susan McGinnis
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3246 smcginnis@nvcc.edu
Ivan Castaneda 703.764.7396 icastaneda@nvcc.edu CM 362
Lisa Kenna 703.323.3246 lkenna@nvcc.edu
Stephen Santelli 703.323.3246 ssantelli@nvcc.edu 
Laurie Wessely-Baldwin 703.323.3246 lwesselybaldwin@nvcc.edu 
Music
NamePhoneEmailOffice
Jennifer Rainey
Assistant Dean
703.764.5034 jrainey@nvcc.edu  CM 356
Nancy Minogue
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3114 nlminogue@nvcc.edu
Jonathan Van Caudill 703.323.3114 jvcaudill@nvcc.edu 
Glenn, Dewey 703.323.3114 gdewey@nvcc.edu 
James Fay 703.323.3177 jfay@nvcc.edu CM 228
Julie Hahn 703.323.3114 jhahn@nvcc.edu 
Matthew Halligan 703.323.3114
Rosemarie Houghton 703.323.3114 rhoughton@nvcc.edu 
Christopher Johnston 703.323.3114
Edward Kapusciarz 703.323.3114 ekapusciarz@nvcc.edu 
Suhn-hee Kim 703.323.3114 skim@nvcc.edu 
Larry LeMaster 703.323.3114 llemaster@nvcc.edu 
Margaret McNulty 703.323.3114 mmcnulty@nvcc.edu 
Dimitar Naumoff 703.323.3114 dnaumoff@nvcc.edu
Su Zan Park 703.323.3114 spark@nvcc.edu 
Eun-Ah Roh 703.323.3114 eroh@nvcc.edu 
Mila Roushakes 703.323.3114 mroushakes@nvcc.edu 
Taimoor Saeedi 703.323.3114 tsaeedi@nvcc.edu
Herb Smith 703.323.3094 hesmith@nvcc.edu CM 224
John Clifford Wright 703.323.3114 jcwright@nvcc.edu 
Philosophy
NamePhoneEmailOffice
Erica Smith
Assistant Dean
703.323.3570 ersmith@nvcc.edu CN 202A
Susan McGinnis
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3246 smcginnis@nvcc.edu
Abdelkader Aoudjit 703.323.3246 aaoudjit@nvcc.edu
John Horigan 703.323.3246 jhorigan@nvcc.edu
John McGuinness 703.323.3246 jmcguinness@nvcc.edu
Rafayel Seyranyan 703.323.3246 rseyranyan@nvcc.edu
Steven Stakland 703.323.3356 sstakland@nvcc.edu  CM 322
Physical Education
NamePhoneEmailOffice
Susan Thompson
Assistant Dean
703.323.3235 spthompson@nvcc.edu CM 342B
Nancy Minogue
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3114 nlminogue@nvcc.edu
Gamal Aboshadi 703.323.3114 gaaboshadi@nvcc.edu
Christine Camillo 703.323.3114 ccamillo@nvcc.edu 
Tesha Crockett 703.323.3114 tcrockett@nvcc.edu
Elaine Foggan-Rupp 703.323.3114 efogganrupp@nvcc.edu
Gail Freedman 703.323.3114
Alan Golombek 703.323.3114 agolombek@nvcc.edu 
Brian Howells, Jr. 703.323.3114 bhowells@nvcc.edu 
Nancy Jacobson 703.323.3114 njacobson@nvcc.edu 
Juanita Kuntz 703.323.3114 jkuntz@nvcc.edu 
Christopher McNeill 703.323.3114 cmcneill@nvcc.edu 
John Meeks 703.323.3114 jmeeks@nvcc.edu
Stephen Mrowka 703.323.3114 smrowka@nvcc.edu 
Beverly Pittman 703.323.3321 bdpittman@nvcc.edu  CM 310
Elizabeth Spatz 703.323.3114 espatz@nvcc.edu
Susan Thompson 703.323.3114 spthompson@nvcc.edu 
Laurae, Upchurch 703.323.3114 lupchurch@nvcc.edu 
Political Science
NamePhoneEmailOffice
Rashmi Chilka
Assistant Dean
703.323.3897 rchilka@nvcc.edu
Susan McGinnis
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3246 smcginnis@nvcc.edu
Arus Harutyunyan 703.323.3260/46 aharutyunyan@nvcc.edu
Gabriel Hudson 703.323.3260/46 ghudson@nvcc.edu 
Brian Jones 703.323.33260/46 bdjones@nvcc.edu
Scott Racek 703.323.3246 sracek@nvcc.edu 
Mark Royce 703.323.3260/46 mroyce@nvcc.edu 
Jennifer Sayasithsena 703.323.3216 jsayasithsena@nvcc.edu CN 214D
Erin Wigginton 703.323.3246 ewigginton@nvcc.edu 
Psychology
NamePhoneEmailOffice
Pamela Stewart
Assistant Dean
703.323.3403 pstewart@nvcc.edu CN 214C
Susan McGinnis
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3246 smcginnis@nvcc.edu
Charles Barrett 703.323.3246 cbarrett@nvcc.edu 
Shana Lee Bui 703.323.3246 sbui@nvcc.edu 
Deanna DeGidio 703.323.3262 ddegidio@nvcc.edu CN 202F
Richard Green 703.323.3260/46 rgreen@nvcc.edu
Karen Livesey 703.323.3260/46 klivesey@nvcc.edu  CN 214B
Kathy Lloyd 703.323.3352 klloyd@nvcc.edu  CN 202C
Jason McBeth 703.323.3260/46 jmcbeth@nvcc.edu
Hugh McIntosh 703.323.3260/46 hmcintosh@nvcc.edu
Kavita Mirchandani 703.323.3246 kmirchandani@nvcc.edu 
Glenora Nelson 703.323.3260/46 gnelson@nvcc.edu 
Joan Passino 703.323.3271 jpassino@nvcc.edu CN 214B
Eric Shiraev 703.323.2155 eshiraev@nvcc.edu  CM 312
Diane Tuininga 703.323.3260/46 dtuininga@nvcc.edu 
Recreation, Parks & Leisure Studies
NamePhoneEmailOffice
Jeff Sager
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3107 jssager@nvcc.edu
Nancy Chamberlain 703.323.3107 nchamberlain@nvcc.edu 
Susan Hansen 703.323.3107 shansen@nvcc.edu 
Jason Montecalvo 703.323.3107
Larry Smith
703.323.3107 lmsmith@nvcc.edu
Patrick Workman
703.323.3107 pworkman@nvcc.edu 
Religion
NamePhoneEmailOffice
Erica Smith
Assistant Dean
703.323.3570 ersmith@nvcc.edu CN 202A
Susan McGinnis
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3246 smcginnis@nvcc.edu
Matthew D. Moore 703.323.3246 mamoore@nvcc.edu
Daoud Nassimi 703.323.3246 dnassimi@nvcc.edu 
Ann Stegner 703.323.3261 awertman@nvcc.edu  CM 322
Sociology
NamePhoneEmailOffice
Erica Smith
Assistant Dean
703.323.3570 ersmith@nvcc.edu CN 202A
Susan McGinnis
Administrative Assistant
703.323.3246 smcginnis@nvcc.edu
Chanda Cook 703.323.3246 crcook@nvcc.edu
Samuel Dunlap 703.323.3246 sdunlap@nvcc.edu 
John Ehle, Jr. 703.323.3246 jehle@nvcc.edu 
Karen Guillory 703.323.3246 kguillory@nvcc.edu
Mustafa Gurbuz 703.323.3246 mgurbuz@nvcc.edu 
Ann Johnson 703.323.3246 amjohnson@nvcc.edu 
Carol Mason 703.323.3246 cmason@nvcc.edu 
Arturo Politano 703.323.3246 apolitano@nvcc.edu 
Zahra Seif-Amirhosseini Rafie 703.323.4068 zrafie@nvcc.edu  CN 214H
Randall Salm 703.323.3246 rsalm@nvcc.edu 
Mary Satian 703.323.3246 mwsatian@nvcc.edu 
William Stewart 703.323.3246 wstewart@nvcc.edu
Faculty Advisors
Faculty Advisors
Contact (will assign advisor)DisciplinePhoneRoom
Nancy Minogue Art/Humanities 703.323.3114 CM 342
Susan McGinnis Economics/Geography 703.323.3246 CN 202
Susan McGinnis History/Political Science 703.323.3246 CN 202
Susan McGinnis International Relations 703.323.3246 CN 202
Nancy Minogue Music 703.323.3114 CM 342
Nancy Minogue Phys Ed/Fitness Certificate 703.323.3114 CM 342
Susan McGinnis Philosophy/Religion 703.323.3246 CN 202
Susan McGinnis Psychology 703.323.3246 CN 202
Jeffrey Sager Recreation & Parks 703.323.3107 CM 342
Susan McGinnis Sociology 703.323.3246 CN 202
Jeffrey Sager Communication Studies and Theater 703.323.3107 CM 342

 

Top