Welcome to the Northern Virginia Community College Website

Accessibility Navigation:

Liberal Arts Division

The Liberal Arts Division within the Alexandria Campus is a good place to study where humanity has been, where it is, and where it might be going. It is a good place to gain skills and insights useful in shaping both a personal future and the future of humanity.

The dawn of the twenty-first century illuminated a world unrecognizable to our ancestors. It is a world interdependent and interconnected, a world where anything that happens anywhere can affect everyone everywhere. To see the world more clearly in the light of this new age, come study with us at the Alexandria Campus.

The Alexandria Campus is a world campus. We are the most ethnically and racially diverse place of learning in Virginia. We have students from 160 of the world’s nations in our classrooms. Our graduates are to be found everywhere on the globe. Governments may quarrel, but peoples from all races and all nations -- even those whose home countries may be warring-- come here to learn together in an atmosphere of mutual respect and peace.

The Liberal Arts Division within the Alexandria Campus is a good place to study where humanity has been, where it is, and where it might be going. It is a good place to gain skills and insights useful in shaping both a personal future and the future of humanity.

We offer courses in Global Studies, International Relations, Comparative Politics, World Literature, Environmental Studies, International Economics, Histories of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Middle East and Western Civilization, Religions of the World, International Business, Conflict Resolution, Music and Art Appreciation, Intercultural Communications, Anthropology, Cross Cultural Psychology and many more directed at creating a better understanding of the world around us.

We are home to the largest English as a Second Language program in the Commonwealth of Virginia. We offer fourteen of the world’s languages, including the ten most widely spoken.

The Institute for Public Service, a unit within the Liberal Arts Division, places students from America and from around the world in internships in the Washington area institutions that influence community, national, and world policies. The Institute sponsors forums on topics important globally and locally and works to apply the resources of the Alexandria Campus to projects that promote the public good. Within a ten mile radius of the Alexandria Campus are the embassies of 190 nations, the Pentagon, State Department, and the headquarters of dozens of international organizations. Many of our students work in this international environment and many of our teachers have experience within it.

Programs/Disciplines
Faculty and Staff

Administration and Staff

NamePhoneEmail
Dr. Jimmie McClellan
Dean
703.845.6223 jmcclellan@nvcc.edu
Shonette Grant
Lead Assistant Dean
703.845.6503 sgrant@nvcc.edu
Sah Ara Sanu-t
Administrative Assistant to the Dean
703.845.6233 snance@nvcc.edu
Samuel Rosado Rodriguez
Office Manager
703.933.3974 srosadorodr@nvcc.edu
Marlene Ibar
Administrative Assistant
703.845.6242 maibar@nvcc.edu
Azza Ahmed
Administrative Assistant
703.845.6214 azahmed@nvcc.edu
Linda Campos
Administrative Assistant
703.933.8099 lcampos@nvcc.edu
Britt Conley
Administrative Assistant
703.845.6095 bconley@nvcc.edu
Noemi Rosado-Roman
Administrative Assistant
703.933.5038 nrosadoroman@nvcc.edu

Art

NamePhoneEmail
Sarah Liberatore
Assistant Dean
703.845.6160 sliberatore@nvcc.edu
Jessica Gardner 703.845.6273 jggardner@nvcc.edu
Stacy Slaten 703.845.6075 sslaten@nvcc.edu
Mark Anderson (adjunct) 703.845.6242 mtanderson@nvcc.edu
Gwen Bragg (adjunct) 703.845.6242 gbragg@nvcc.edu
Vivien Chen (adjunct) 703.845.6242 vchen@nvcc.edu
Robert French (adjunct) 703.845.6242 rfrench@nvcc.edu
Rebecca Glenn (ELI, adjunct) 703.845.6242 rglenn@nvcc.edu
Nataliya Gurshman (adjunct) 703.845.6311 ngurshman@nvcc.edu
Stephanie Kozemchak (adjunct) 703.845.6311 skozemchak@nvcc.edu
Alexsandra Remorenko (adjunct, also with ELI) 703.845.6311 aremorenko@nvcc.edu
Pete Van Riper (adjunct) 703.845.6311 pvanriper@nvcc.edu

Communication Design (Graphic, Interactive, Web and Multimedia Design)

NamePhoneEmail
Elizabeth (Lisa) Hill
Assistant Dean
703.933.3958 ehill@nvcc.edu
Keven Ramirez
Instructional Assistant
703.845.6239 keramirez@nvcc.edu
Gregory Eckler 703.845.6163 geckler@nvcc.edu
Nick Spencer 703.845.6164 nickspencer@nvcc.edu
Angela Terry 703.845.6094 aterry@nvcc.edu
Rebekah Hanover-Pettit (adjunct) 703.845.6239 rhanoverpettit@nvcc.edu
Marit Knollmueller (adjunct) 703.845.6239 mknollmueller@nvcc.edu
Emine (Derya) Kramer (adjunct) 703.845.6239 edkramer@nvcc.edu

Communication Studies and Theatre

NamePhoneEmail
Dr. Brenda Lewis-Holmes
Assistant Dean
703.845.6162 blewisholme@nvcc.edu
Meredith Aquila 703.933.8089 maquila@nvcc.edu
Dr. Nathan Carter 703.845.6573 nacarter@nvcc.edu
Lucy Gebre-Egziabher 703.845.6297 lgebre@nvcc.edu
Lucy Holsonbake 703.845.6096 lgholsonbake@nvcc.edu
Araceli Palomino 703.845.6242 apalomino@nvcc.edu
Moriah Whiteman mwhiteman@nvcc.edu
Amy Schumacher (adjunct) 703.845.6242 mschumacher@nvcc.edu
Nader Chaaban (adjunct) 703.845.6242 nchaaban@nvcc.edu
Angela Copeland (adjunct) 703.845.6242 aforeman@nvcc.edu
Toni Delancey (adjunct) 703.845.6242 tdelancey@nvcc.edu
Shaunda Durham (adjunct) 703.845.6242 ssdurham@nvcc.edu
Andrew Keller (adjunct) arkeller@nvcc.edu
Amy Ludewig-fisher (adjunct) 703.845.6242 alfisher@nvcc.edu
Takesha McMiller (adjunct) 703.845.6242 tmcmiller@nvcc.edu
Brenda Parker (adjunct) 703.845.6242 bparker@nvcc.edu
John Shosky (adjunct) jshosky@nvcc.edu

English

NamePhoneEmail
Dr. Jarrod Waetjen
Assistant Dean
703.845.6568 jwaetjen@nvcc.edu
Dr. Jennifer Ward
Assistant Dean
703.845.6501 jeward@nvcc.edu
Dr. Michael Amey 703.845.6288 mamey@nvcc.edu
Dr. Jill Biden    
Emily Chiles 703.933.3984 echiles@nvcc.edu
Dianne Daily 703.933.3973 nvdaily@nvcc.edu
Shonette Grant 703.845.6503 sgrant@nvcc.edu
Rachel Martin 703.575.4709 rrmartin@nvcc.edu
Alexander Purugganan 703.845.6235 apurugganan@nvcc.edu
Dr. Carlos Schroder 703.845.6578 cschroder@nvcc.edu
Kathleen Wax 703.845.6566 kwax@nvcc.edu
Nasreen Abbas (adjunct) 703.845.6242 nabbas@nvcc.edu
Michael Baker (adjunct) 703.845.6242 mjbaker@nvcc.edu
Karen Brown (adjunct) 703.845.6242 kbrown@nvcc.edu
Robert Brunner (adjunct) 703.845.6047 rbrunner@nvcc.edu
Jon Burton (adjunct) 703.845.6502 jburton@nvcc.edu
Chaundra Castilla (adjunct) 703.845.6242 ccastilla@nvcc.edu
Margaret Diamond (adjunct) 703.845.6242 mdiamond@nvcc.edu
Gino Diangelo (adjunct) 703.845.6242 gdiangelo@nvcc.edu
Melissa Dienna (adjunct) 703.845.6242 mbrinkmann@nvcc.edu
Maria Fidler (adjunct) 703.845.6242 mfidler@nvcc.edu
Shannon Garner-Balandrin (adjunct) 703.845.6242 sgarnerbalandrin@nvcc.edu
William Hess (adjunct) 703.845.6242 whess@nvcc.edu
Mary Holmes (adjunct) 703.845.6242 mholmes@nvcc.edu
Janice Jacobs (adjunct) 703.845.6242 jsjacobs@nvcc.edu
Geeta Kumar (adjunct) 703.845.6242 gkumar@nvcc.edu
William Lord (adjunct) 703.845.6242 wlord@nvcc.edu
Maheesha Mansaray (adjunct) 703.845.6242 mmansaray@nvcc.edu
Patricia Means (adjunct) 703.845.6242 pmeans@nvcc.edu
John Pickett (adjunct) 703.845.6242 jpickett@nvcc.edu
Anne Taranto (adjunct) 703.845.6242 ataranto@nvcc.edu
Susan Tucker (adjunct) 703.845.6242 stucker@nvcc.edu
Adrienne Washington (adjunct) 703.845.6242 awashington@nvcc.edu
Sabrina Woods (adjunct) 703.845.6242 swoods@nvcc.edu
Rosemarie Wilcox (adjunct) 703.845.6242 rosewilcox@nvcc.edu

English as a Second Language

NamePhoneEmail
Peter Ruffner
Assistant Dean
703.845.6565 pruffner@nvcc.edu

Janice Hornyak

703.845.6585 jhornyak@nvcc.edu
Scott Buswell 703.845.6574 sbuswell@nvcc.edu
Elizabeth Chan 703.845.6562 echan@nvcc.edu
Janet Giannotti 703.933.3983 jgiannotti@nvcc.edu
John Kinney 703.845.6013 jkinney@nvcc.edu
Dr. Agnes Malicka 703.845.6353 amalicka@nvcc.edu
Stephanie Sareeram 703.845.6015 ssareeram@nvcc.edu
James Toepper 703.845.6385 jtoepper@nvcc.edu
Ruth Takushi 703.845.6570 rtakushi@nvcc.edu
Mike Waguespack 703.845.6571 mwaguespack@nvcc.edu
Gloria Ward 703.933.3980 gward@nvcc.edu
Tauheeda Yasin 703.845.6579 tyasin@nvcc.edu
Maysoon Almazyed (adjunct) 703.845.6242 malmazyed@nvcc.edu
Brian Anthon (adjunct) 703.845.6242 banthon@nvcc.edu
Claudia Calissie (adjunct) 703.845.6242 ccalissie@nvcc.edu
Aaron Carlson (adjunct) 703.845.6242 acarlson@nvcc.edu
Tracy Chase (adjunct) 703.323.3346 tchase@nvcc.edu
Claire Cirolia (adjunct) 703.845.6242 ccirolia@nvcc.edu
Rima Fakhry (adjunct) 703.845.6242 rfakhry@nvcc.edu
Catherine Fisher (adjunct) 703.845.6242 cfisher@nvcc.edu
Nancy Foote (adjunct) 703.845.6242 nfoote@nvcc.edu
Leah Gonzalez (adjunct) 703.845.6242 ljgonzalez@nvcc.edu
Carmen Hernan (adjunct) 703.845.6242 chernan@nvcc.edu
Dana Kappler (adjunct) 703.845.6242 dakappler@nvcc.edu
Greg Kennerly (adjunct) 703.845.6242 gkennerly@nvcc.edu
Beverly Khabo (adjunct) 703.845.6242 bkhabo@nvcc.edu
Robert Lubas (adjunct) 703.845.6242 rlubas@nvcc.edu
Agnes Malicka (adjunct) 703.845.6242 amalicka@nvcc.edu
Katherine Marshall (adjunct) 703.845.6242 kamarshall@nvcc.edu
Robert Murphy (adjunct) 703.845.6242 rmurphy@nvcc.edu
Georgia Mae Oates (adjunct) 703.845.6242 goates@nvcc.edu
Rabia Pervez (adjunct) 703.845.6242 rpervez@nvcc.edu
Elizabeth Rasmussen (adjunct) 703.845.6242 erasmussen@nvcc.edu
Thomas Satterwhite (adjunct) 703.845.6242 tsatterwhite@nvcc.edu
Jane Stanga (adjunct) 703.845.6242 jstanga@nvcc.edu
Isabella Strohmeyer (adjunct) 703.845.6242 istrohmeyer@nvcc.edu
Virginia Zullo (adjunct) 703.845.6242 vzullo@nvcc.edu

History

NamePhoneEmail
Dr. Sue Jean Cho
Assistant Dean
703.933.3951 scho@nvcc.edu
Dr. Jim Baer 703.933.3978 jbaer@nvcc.edu
Dr. Kathleen Fichtel 703.845.6569 kfichtel@nvcc.edu
Nicholas Gaffney 703.845.6242 ngaffney@nvcc.edu
Dr. Lynette Garrett 703.933.8328 lagarrett@nvcc.edu
Dr. Jimmie McClellan 703.845.6223 jmcclellan@nvcc.edu
Christine Contrada (adjunct) 703.845.6242 ccontrada@nvcc.edu
Glenn Fatzinger (adjunct) 703.845.6242 gfatzinger@nvcc.edu
Kelsey Flynn (adjunct) 703.845.6242 kflynn@nvcc.edu
Deborah Gomez (adjunct) 703.845.6242 dgomez@nvcc.edu
Aneta Lauro (adjunct) 703.845.6242 alauro@nvcc.edu
Matthew Phillips (adjunct) 703.845.6242 mphillips@nvcc.edu
Brian Vagts (adjunct) 703.845.6242 bvagts@nvcc.edu
Dr. Jeffrey Weir (adjunct) 703.845.6242 jweir@nvcc.edu

Music

NamePhoneEmail
Dr. Jonathan Kolm
Assistant Dean
703.845.6026 jkolm@nvcc.edu
Lisa Eckstein 703.845.6242 leckstein@nvcc.edu
John Kocur 703.845.8364 jkocur@nvcc.edu
Dr. Mark Whitmire 703.845.6097 nvwhitm@nvcc.edu
Sue Brockman (adjunct, flute) 703.845.6242 sbrockman@nvcc.edu
Cara Cammaroto (adjunct, voice) 703.845.6242 ccammaroto@nvcc.edu
Danielle Cho (adjunct, cello) 703.845.6242 dcho@nvcc.edu
Patrick Cook (adjunct, voice) 703.845.6242 pmcetenor@aol.com
Michael Creadon (adjunct, trumpet) 703.845.6242 mcreadon@nvcc.edu
Eugene D’Andrea (adjunct, piano) 703.845.6242 edandrea@nvcc.edu
Melissa Dvorak (adjunct, harp) 703.845.6242 mdvorak@nvcc.edu
Chris Galvin (adjunct, guitar) 703.845.6242 cromgalvan@yahoo.com
Rex Gori (adjunct, voice) 703.845.6242 aurelius.gori1@verizon.net
Christine Hagan (adjunct, piano) 703.845.6242 mhagan@nvcc.edu
Kenneth Hall (adjunct, guitar) 703.845.6242 khall@nvcc.edu
Brian Jones (adjunct, clarinet) 703.845.6242 bdjones@nvcc.edu
Rami Kanaan (adjunct, violin & viola) 703.845.6242 rwkanaan@nvcc.edu
Ja-Hye Koo (adjunct, piano) 703.845.6242 jkoo@nvcc.edu
Deborah Lloyd (adjunct, piano) 703.845.6242 dlloyd@nvcc.edu
Jason Lovelace (adjunct, piano) 703.845.6242 jlovelace@nvcc.edu
Sue Neff (adjunct, oboe) 703.845.6242 spneff@nvcc.edu
Kevin Pace (adjunct, bass) 703.845.6242 kpace@nvcc.edu
Kathy Smith (adjunct, piano) 703.845.6242 kbsmith@nvcc.edu

Philosophy/Religion

NamePhoneEmail
Dr. Jarrod Waetjen
Assistant Dean
703.845.6568 jwaetjen@nvcc.edu
Dr. David Brown  703.944.3972 dhbrown@nvcc.edu
Dr. John Sound 703.933.8097 jsound@nvcc.edu
Daoud Nassimi (adjunct) 703.845.6242 dnassimi@nvcc.edu
Christopher Outlaw (adjunct) 703.845.6242 coutlaw@nvcc.edu
John Shosky (adjunct) 703.845.6242 jshosky@nvcc.edu
Dennis Skocz (adjunct) 703.845.6242 deskocz@nvcc.edu
Chris Venner (adjunct) 703.845.6242 cvenner@nvcc.edu

Photography and Media

NamePhoneEmail
Sarah Raymond
Assistant Dean
703.845.6153 sraymond@nvcc.edu
Linda (Page) Carr 703.845.6170 lcarr@nvcc.edu
Robert (Bob) Laubach (Lab Manager) 703.845.6287 rlaubach@nvcc.edu
Aya Takashima 703.845.6074 atakashima@nvcc.edu

World Languages

NamePhoneEmail
Dr. Martha Davis
Assistant Dean
703.845.6586 mdavis@nvcc.edu
Eddy Arana 703.933.3986 earana@nvcc.edu
Elizabeth Bull 703.845.6567 ebull@nvcc.edu
Dr. Laura Franklin 703.845.6325 lfranklin@nvcc.edu
Lama Hamdan 703.933.8372 hlama@nvcc.edu
Dr. Dali Tan 703.933.5078 dtan@nvcc.edu
James Toepper 703.845.6242 jtoepper@nvcc.edu
Amanda Trostle 703.933.3985 atrostle@nvcc.edu
James Bernhardt (adjunct) 703.845.6214 jabernhardt@nvcc.edu
Camoosha Bell (adjunct) 703.845.6242 cbell@nvcc.edu
Nadya Malago Blackburn (adjunct) 703.845.6242 nmalagoblack@nvcc.edu
Alfred Carter (adjunct) 703.845.6214 ajcarter@nvcc.edu
Simon Contreras (adjunct) 703.845.6242 scontreras@nvcc.edu
Krista Croghan (adjunct) 703.845.6242 kcroghan@nvcc.edu
Genevieve Delfosse (adjunct) 703.845.6242 gdelfosse@nvcc.edu
William Holley (adjunct) 703.845.6242 wholley@nvcc.edu
Esther Kahn (adjunct) 703.845.6242 ekahn@nvcc.edu
Yuriko Miller (adjunct) 703.845.6214 ymiller@nvcc.edu
Victor Oliver (adjunct) 703.845.6214 voliver@nvcc.edu
Robert Olson (adjunct) 703.845.6242 rolson@nvcc.edu
Takako Shigehisa (adjunct) 703.845.6242 tshigehisa@nvcc.edu
Omaia Youssef (adjunct) 703.845.6242 oyoussef@nvcc.edu
Top