Breadcrumb Navigation:

Home > Academics > Global Studies & Programs > Student Opportunities > Study Abroad

Group of International students

Study Abroad

If you're ready to take the next step, look at the available study abroad programs below then contact the noted faculty directly for more information. Also, take a look at NOVA's past programs as well as links to relevant scholarship sites and general travel information.

Find out what it's like by going on one of NOVA's short-term faculty led study abroad programs. Our programs allow you to choose an international experience that fits your professional/academic and personal goals. NOVA faculty led programs are built to fit the needs of our students which means short-term (1-3 weeks) usually during college breaks so you don't have to miss other classes.

Why Study Abroad?

It’s relevant ... no matter what field you’re in the chance to add a global context to your studies is invaluable to employers in an ever globalizing market. 

It’s life changing ... whether it’s for a week or a month the chance to experience life in another culture will alter the way you view your own. Going abroad expands your understanding and interest in the world around you.

It makes a difference ... apply your skills in a way that makes a difference for a community that may not have access to reliable healthcare, technology or other infrastructures and get credit for it at the same time.

And credits transfer…talk to your academic adviser to ensure you choose a program with courses that will directly transfer to your degree program.

Can I use my Financial Aid?

The cost of study abroad depends on length of the program and provider. Generally, programs lead by NOVA faculty are affordable and often allow you to use current financial aid if credit is being awarded. You may also want to look at specific scholarships available for study abroad.

Costs usually include a fee for the travel (air, hotel, meals and some excursions) in addition to cost per credit being received.

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to stand in awe of the grand cathedrals of Europe, speak Arabic in the markets of Marrakesh or volunteer at a rural health clinic in Ghana and get credit for it?

I'm Ready to Go! What Next?

If you're ready to take the next step, look at the available study abroad programs below and then contact the noted faculty member for more information.

Other Study Abroad Program & Scholarship Opportunities

Scholarship Opportunities


AIFS International Scholarships

AIFS offers a wide range of unique study abroad programs in Asia, Australia, Europe, Africa and the Americas, plus multi-country traveling programs throughout western Europe.

Boren Scholarships and Fellowships

Boren Scholarships and Fellowships provide unique funding opportunities for U.S. undergraduate and graduate students to add an important international and language component to their educations. We focus on geographic areas, languages, and fields of study that are critical to U.S. national security, broadly defined, and underrepresented in study abroad.

Diversity Abroad / GlobaLinks Learning Abroad Scholarship

Diversity Abroad has partnered with GlobaLinks Learning Abroad and The Foundation for Global Scholars to offer $1,000 scholarships for undergraduate students from any community colleges or four-year college, who will study abroad during the summer, fall or spring to apply. This scholarship specifically targets students who identify as one of the following: ethnic minority, economically disadvantaged, physical disability, or first generation college student.

Freeman Scholarship

Freeman-ASIA accepts applications from U.S. citizens or permanent residents studying at the undergraduate level at a two-year or four-year college or university who demonstrate financial need to study abroad in East or Southeast Asia.

Gilman Scholarship

The Gilman Scholarship Program offers awards for undergraduate study abroad and was established by the International Academic Opportunity Act of 2000. This scholarship provides awards for U.S. undergraduate students who are receiving Federal Pell Grant funding at a two-year or four-year college or university to participate in study abroad programs worldwide

International Scholarships

This website is a comprehensive financial aid, college scholarship and international scholarship resource for students wishing to study abroad. At this site, you will find the most comprehensive listing of grants, scholarships, loan programs, and other information to assist college and university students in their pursuit to study abroad.

Other Study Abroad Options


CIEE

CIEE offers programs including study abroad, teach abroad, and faculty development seminars.

GoAbroad.com

Detailed study abroad scholarship database search tool

IIEPassport

IIEPassport provides many resources for prospective study abroad students including guides and detailed destination information

StudyAbroad.com

Explore study abroad financing options with our featured loan and scholarship sponsors.

Contact a NOVA Study Abroad Faculty Advisor

Alexandria

NameDepartmentEmail

George Gonchar
Department of Science and Technology ggonchar@nvcc.edu
Tauheeda Yasin Department of Languages and Literature tyasin@nvcc.edu

Annandale

NameDepartmentEmail
Ana Alonso Department of World Languages aalonso@nvcc.edu
Rima Gulshan Department of Languages and Literature rgulshan@nvcc.edu
Yuemin "Brooke" He Department of Languages and Literature yhe@nvcc.edu
Ruma Salhi Department of History rsalhi@nvcc.edu
Sophia Sexton Department of Languages and Literature ssexton@nvcc.edu
Jay Steere Department of Languages and Literature jsteere@nvcc.edu
Cecilia Wiltshire Department of Languages and Literature cwiltshire@nvcc.edu

Loudoun

NameDepartmentEmail
Anny Ojekwe Department of Computer Science/ Political Science aojekwe@nvcc.edu
Josh Pachter Department of Psychology jpachter@nvcc.edu

Manassas

NameDepartmentEmail
Meredith Reynolds Department of Languages and Literature mreynolds@nvcc.edu

Medical

NameDepartmentEmail
Daria Amato Department of Nursing damato@nvcc.edu

Woodbridge

NameDepartmentEmail
Anny Ojekwe Department of Computer Science/Political Science aojekwe@nvcc.edu
Virginia Layne Department of Sociology vlayne@nvcc.edu
Dr. Carmen Figueroa Department of World Languages cfigueroa@nvcc.edu