Welcome to the Northern Virginia Community College Website

Accessibility Navigation:

College Senate

The College Senate forms their opinions on any subject relevant to the College's interests and makes suggestions or recommendations to the appropriate College committee, officer, or Campus Council for further consideration.

The College Senate seeks advice from and makes policy recommendations to the President of the College, the appropriate College Committee, and/or Campus Council for further consideration, and in all areas of College activity. It may establish standing and special committees to deal with specific issues. The College Senate may also elect to submit recommendations to the NOVA Board of Directors through the President of the College.

The College Senate nominates representatives for appointment to College Standing committees and elects members to the College Forum Committees.

2013-2015 Membership

Chair: Matt Todd
Vice Chair: Jo Ann Short

Alexandria Campus

Teaching FacultyClassified StaffAdministrative Faculty
Shannon Bobb Kirsten Riddick Matt Todd
Margaret Emblom-Callahan  
Alka Gandhi
Ruth Takushi

Annandale Campus

Teaching FacultyClassified StaffAdministrative Faculty
Laura Albert Vicki Budd
Jo Ann Short Hemchand Gossai  
DeQuan Smith
John Bownik (student)

Loudoun Campus

Teaching FacultyClassified StaffAdministrative Faculty

Scott Matthews

Jennifer Horton

Michael Polcen Laura Siko
William Straight


Teaching FacultyClassified StaffAdministrative Faculty
Susannah Givens Marcie Schreibman Heidi Adamson
Barbara Lash Corey Esparza
Joye Thomas (student)

Medical Education Campus

Teaching FacultyClassified StaffAdministrative Faculty
Karen Gordon Don Johnson Andy Cornell
Patti Ottavio
Debra Powell
Beth Shewmaker

Woodbridge Campus

Teaching FacultyClassified StaffAdministrative Faculty
Megan Davies Cynthia Alvarado Alison Thimblin
Frank Ferrara
Sue Thompson

Extended Learning Institute

Professional FacultyClassified Staff
Christy Jensen Kristen Shriver

College Staff

Ken Balbuena

Shannon Ingram

Presidential Appointees

Charlotte Calobrisi AN Administrative Faculty
David Epstein WO Administrative Faculty
Kerin Hilker CS Administrative Faculty
Chad Knights AL Administrative Faculty
Maria Liappis CS Classified Staff
Beatrice Veney MEC Administrative Faculty

Third Thursday of the month from 1:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.

  • Sept. 17
  • Oct. 15
  • Nov. 19
  • Dec. 17
  • Jan. 21
  • Feb. 18
  • Mar. 17
  • Apr. 21
  • Apr. 28