Site Search:

A browser that supports JavaScript is required to submit the NOVA site search form and to display search results.

Audience Navigation:

Topic Navigation:

Breadcrumb Navigation:

Home > About NOVA > History > Timeline


College History

1964 – Northern Virginia Technical College was established.

1965 – First classes were held with 761 students and 46 faculty and staff members.

1966 – The College was renamed Northern Virginia Community College (NOVA).

1968 – Dr. Richard J. Ernst became NOVA’s second president.

1969 – The original plan of establishing one central campus and four satellite centers was changed to a concept of five campuses supported by
a central administration.

1988 – The semester system began at NOVA.

1998 – Dr. Richard J. Ernst retired and Dr. Belle Wheelan became NOVA’s third president.

2002 – Dr. Belle Wheelan left NOVA to become the Secretary of Education for Virginia. Dr. Charles L. Downs served as interim president from January to August. Dr. Robert G. Templin, Jr. became the College’s fourth president in August 2002.

2003 – The Medical Education Campus opened in Springfield.

2006 – The Arlington Center and Reston Center opened for classes.

2007 – NOVA became an Achieving the Dream College.

2008 – The Innovation Park Center in Manassas opened for classes.

2009 – Signal Hill in Sterling opened for classes.

2010 – NOVA was distinguished as an Achieving the Dream Leader College.