Welcome to the Northern Virginia Community College Website

Accessibility Navigation:

Natural and Applied Science Division

Explore the academic programs offered in the Natural and Applied Science Division.

Programs/Disciplines
Faculty and Staff

Division Faculty and Staff

Course/TitleNamePhoneEmail
Division Dean Dr. Barbara Canfield 703.450.2575 bcanfield@nvcc.edu
Accounting Kush Jenkins 703.948.2789 kjenkins@nvcc.edu
Accounting Rujuta Panchal 703.948.7714 rpanchal@nvcc.edu
Biology Dr. Gillian Backus 703.948.7785 gbackus@nvcc.edu
Biology Woodnard Givens 703.404.7333 wgivens@nvcc.edu
Biology Dr. Michael Hansen 703.948.7751 mhansen@nvcc.edu
Biology Morgan Marsh 703.450.2621 smatthews@nvcc.edu
Biology, Assistant Dean Scott Matthews 703.450.2622 smatthews@nvcc.edu
Biology Dr. Paula Rodgers 703.948.2790 prodgers@nvcc.edu
Biology Fred Terranova 703.450.2576 fterranova@nvcc.edu
Biology Dr. Eric Voll 703.450.2510 evoll@nvcc.edu
Business Management & Administration Michael Brazie 703.450.2617 mbrazie@nvcc.edu
Business Management & Administration, Program Head Miguel Corrigan 703.450.2615 mcorrigan@nvcc.edu
Chemistry Mitra Jahangeri 703.948.7783 mjahangeri@nvcc.edu
Chemistry Dr. Anita Mohan 703.948.7550 amohan@nvcc.edu
Chemistry Dr. Krishna Pendyala 703.948.7714 kpendyala@nvcc.edu
Chemistry, Assistant Dean Edward Perry 703.948.7789 eperry@nvcc.edu
Computer Science, Program Head Carolyn Davis 703.450.2578 cdavis@nvcc.edu
Computer Science Hashem Anwari 703.450.2610 manwari@nvcc.edu
Economics Dr. Gbago (Edward) Creppy 703.450.2549 gcreppy@nvcc.edu
Economics, Assistant Dean Michael Polcen 703.948.7702 mpolcen@nvcc.edu
Environmental Science Kristyn Moskey 703.948.7790 kmoskey@nvcc.edu
Engineering Dr. Mohammed (Hamadi) Belghith 703.450.2611 mbelghith@nvcc.edu
Financial Services Miguel Corrigan 703.450.2615 mcorrigan@nvcc.edu
Geology, Assistant Dean William Bour 703.450.2612 wbour@nvcc.edu
Geology Okia Ikwuazorm 703.948.7584 oikwuazorm@nvcc.edu
Geology Dr. William Straight 703.948.7750 wstraight@nvcc.edu
Health Sandi Nicholson 703.450.2613

snicholson@nvcc.edu

Horticulture Susan Dickson 703.450.5483

sdickson@nvcc.edu

Information Technology, Co-Program Head Robert Dusek 703.450.2539 rdusek@nvcc.edu
Information Technology Hashem Anwari 703.450.2610 manwari@nvcc.edu
Information Technology Chola Chhetri 703.948.2788 cchhetri@nvcc.edu
Information Technology John Hovell  703.948.7792 jhovell@nvcc.edu 
Information Technology Timothy Eichers 703.948.7755 reichers@nvcc.edu
Information Technology Khanh Dinh 703.450.5637 kdinh@nvcc.edu
Marketing, Program Head Miguel Corrigan 703.450.2615 mcorrigan@nvcc.edu
Mathematics Dr. Ala Abdelbaki 703.450.2526 aabdelbaki@nvcc.edu
Mathematics Joseph Agnich 703.948.7782 jagnich@nvcc.edu
Mathematics Sharis Ahmadi 703.948.7713 sahmadi@nvcc.edu
Mathematics Gwendalin Aranya 703.450.5484 garanya@nvcc.edu
Mathematics Karen Barr 703.450.2611 kbarr@nvcc.edu
Mathematics Joseph Herning 703.450.2620 jherning@nvcc.edu
Mathematics, Associate Dean Laura Jacyna 703.450.2538 ljacyna@nvcc.edu
Mathematics Lara Langdon  703.948.7793 llangdon@nvcc.edu 
Mathematics Karen Sandreczki 703.948.5482 ksandreczki@nvcc.edu
Mathematics John Scalea 703.948.7700 jscalea@nvcc.edu
Mathematics Michael Victorine 703.948.7712 mvictorine@nvcc.edu
Mathematics, Assistant Dean Michael Wallace 703.404.7319 mwallace@nvcc.edu
Mathematics Dr. Tyler White 703.948.7659 tmwhite@nvcc.edu
Natural Science Dr. Gillian Backus 703.948.7785 gbackus@nvcc.edu
Natural Science Scott Matthews 703.450.2622 smatthews@nvcc.edu
Physical Education, Assistant Dean Sandra Nicholson 703.450.2613 snicholson@nvcc.edu
Physical Education Nicholas Sborz 703.948.7795 nsborz@nvcc.edu
Physics Dr. Francesca Viale fviale@nvcc.edu
Veterinary Technology, Program Head, Online Program Dr. Kiana Adkisson-Selby 703.450.2634 kadkissonselby@nvcc.edu
Veterinary Technology Dr. Mary Suzanne Aller 703.450.2623 maller@nvcc.edu
Veterinary Technology, Assistant Dean and Program Head, On-Campus Program Dr. Tregel Cockburn 703.948.7741 tcockburn@nvcc.edu
Veterinary Technology Dr. Amy Laubinger  703.948.7794 llaubinger@nvcc.edu 
Veterinary Technology Dr. Regina Wilson 703.948.7596 rwilson@nvcc.edu

The following table lists the support staff of the Natural and Applied Sciences Division.

Course/TitleNamePhoneEmail
Division Office Administrative Assistants, LR 303 Kathleen Blair, Office Manager 703.450.2575 kblair@nvcc.edu
  Seema Varma 703.450.2575 svarma@nvcc.edu
Biology Lab Assistants, LS 103 Justina Ceja 703.450.2657 jceja@nvcc.edu
Chemistry Lab Assistant, LS 103 Heather Soliday 703.948.7743 hsoliday@nvcc.edu
Horticulture Lab Assistant, LS 103 Steven Darrow 703.948.7592 sdarrow@nvcc.edu
Math Center Instructor/Trainers, SH316 Martin Shaw 703.450.2644 mshaw@nvcc.edu
  Jill Hacker 703.450.2644 jhacker@nvcc.edu
  Phi Phung Trinh 703.450.2644 ptrinh@nvcc.edu
Computer Lab Assistants, LW 228 Laurie Mergler 703.450.2521 lmergler@nvcc.edu
  Joseph Walker 703.450.2521 jowalker@nvcc.edu
Veterinary Technology Administrative Assistants, LA 153 Deborah Fulton 703.948.7590 dfulton@nvcc.edu
Veterinary Technology Lab Assistants, LA 102 Diane Schrenzel 703.948.7786 dschrenzel@nvcc.edu
LA Lobby Dawn Witter 703.450.2525 dwitter@nvcc.edu
Top